Skip to content

Week 51 – brown paper packages

December 22, 2012

focus52Blog

It’s the week before Christmas, and it’s time to wrap the gifts.  For those who know me, or who have been following my blog for a while, you know that I don’t wrap with paper.   I’ve been using cloth gift bags for a few years now, and every year I sew a few more to add to the collection (mainly because I don’t have bags the size I need).

The prompt this week is to capture the gifts, any way we choose. That’s how I read it, anyway. I spent yesterday morning wrapping the majority of the gifts that I have for my family. I placed them under the tree and fired up the camera. It was a very dreary day, and the light was scarce. I didn’t want to use my flash, so I set up a spot light on the ground, pointed in the direction of the tree. That’s the first time I had played with a spot light for light augmentation and I was happy with how it worked out.

In addition to the cloth bags, I also use the fronts of Christmas cards from previous years to label each gift. It’s nice to look back on the handwritten notes on the cards, before I cut the front off to use to attach to the ribbons.

51 - brown paper packages

divider

I love coordinating the colors of the cards with the fabrics of the bags – I don’t do it with all of them, as the kids won’t care.   But it sure looks pretty to me.

51 - brown paper packages 2

divider

The large gift against the wall is one that my daughter is DYING to open.   I sure hope she likes what’s in it.  🙂

51 - brown paper packages 3

divider

The blue doesn’t typically say “Christmas” but I love the shimmery texture, and it says “holiday” to me.

51 - brown paper packages 4

divider

And that’s your peek under our Christmas tree. I’m looking forward to taking the set of photos that show the joy on the faces of my children (and the adults in the family too!) on Christmas morning.

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2012 12:02 am

    Wonderful! I love how you played around with the lighting. It worked like a charm.
    I hope you and your family have a beautiful Christmas. xoxo

  2. December 23, 2012 12:03 am

    very nice christmas wrapping idea…love the feel of the presents underneath the tree, and who would have thought of such a wonderful way to use the old cards…great post and lovely photos of the christmas spirit in your home.

  3. December 23, 2012 7:39 pm

    Beautiful lighting…creative recycling. I’m slowly moving towards cloth bags; yours are beautiful!

  4. sheila permalink
    December 24, 2012 8:17 am

    I always enjoy the fruits of your talent! Many years ago I made fabric Christmas gift bags in many sizes. I used them for several years, but most of them have disappeared, unfortunately. I had one large one left and used it to wrap Hayden’s gift (Ellen’s son). Maybe I’ll even make some new ones for next year! Here’s wishing you a very happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

