Skip to content

Week 49 – deck the halls

December 9, 2012

focus52Blog

This week’s prompt was timely, in that it was time to decorate the Christmas tree.  With an early Thanksgiving this year, I didn’t want to have a tree up with over a week of November left.    We put the tree itself up on November 29th, but we didn’t have time to decorate it before leaving town the following day to visit my husband’s family.   In fact, we didn’t get the time to decorate it until the following Tuesday, December 4th.

So for six days, our family room looked like this, bare tree and storage containers emptied on the floor (thanks, kids!)
49 - deck the halls
divider
The fragile ornaments had been wrapped in tissue paper, and kept in boxes away from the rest of the ornaments. My lovely younger children took them out of their protective nests and dumped them on the floor.
49 - deck the halls

divider

I set up the camera and timer before we even started decorating the tree. This let me capture everyone decorating at different times, me included.
49 - deck the halls

divider
I loved seeing the younger two kids decorating the tree. Jack initially didn’t want to be involved in actually hanging the ornaments, claiming he didn’t know how. But luckily he got over that, and he was a big help decorating the tree.
49 - deck the halls

divider

Andrew even hung ornaments (of course, I told him that he wasn’t allowed to play his video games until the tree was done, so he did have some motivation)

49 - deck the halls

divider

Rich got in the spirit of decking the halls, and hung this garland on the mantel. I think it turned out really nice, and I’m glad he thought of it.
49 - deck the halls

divider

The tree, after everyone had gone to bed.    Gumdrop Fred (our elf) was so excited about finally having the tree decorated that he climbed to the top and hung out there for almost 24 hours!

49 - deck the halls

divider

The next theme is bokeh, and I know that I am going to have a lot of fun playing with that one!  🙂

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2012 8:10 pm

    GREAT idea to set the camera and timer – will have to remember that next year with my family!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      December 9, 2012 11:46 pm

      it really was fun, and I think I should do it more often.

  2. December 9, 2012 10:33 pm

    I love all the photos you captured by setting the timer! How awesome is that?!
    Great shots, Gwen. Family moments to cherish 🙂

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      December 9, 2012 11:46 pm

      I’m really glad I thought of using the timer. I probably wouldn’t have if it hadn’t been for this week’s theme. You should see the funny shots with my kids – they loved the timer, and had all sorts of goofy poses. I should upload one of them to Flickr for you to see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

