Skip to content

Week 48 – layers

November 30, 2012
tags: ,

focus52BlogWhen I think of layers, I think of cake and onions (not together!).    Normally, having a theme like “layers” on the same week as my birthday would make it easy to get layers.  Nope.   I didn’t have a traditional cake this year.   Mom baked me a cake on Saturday, but that was before this week started (and it was a single layer cake).   On my birthday, we had cake pops.   So no cake with any layers to photograph …  and I wasn’t about to cut an onion just for a photo.  Besides, I kind of figured that the sky was the way to go …

Driving around last night, I was wishing I had my camera.  The sky was just so pretty, and there were just layers of color.   So tonight I brought my camera with me when I took my oldest to gymnastics.  I knew the sun would set on my way back, and the view from the ridge by our house would be beautiful.   Sadly, the traffic home got me to the ridge a little later than I wanted.  But I think I still captured the layers that I saw in the sky.

48 - layers

divider

 

The Blue Ridge Mountains are in the distance.  I was hoping to catch more of them to make them a layer, but I just didn’t have the light (plus new houses have been built and they definitely get in my way when I’m trying to capture the horizon).

48 - layers

divider

 

Just imagine if we had cirrus clouds in the mix, that would have definitely made for some colorful layers in the sky!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2012 1:18 pm

    These are gorgeous!
    I’m glad you were a little late 🙂

  2. sheila m. cornish permalink
    December 3, 2012 4:27 pm

    Very nice, Gwen! Try the view from near the handicapped parking at the library…
    btw…wishing you a belated happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

