Skip to content

Week 42 – up close

October 21, 2012

focus52BlogI love a reason to play with macro photography.  I don’t have a macro lens, but I do have a converter that I use with my prime lenses to take macro photographs.

I had a lot of fun with these pictures.    It was threatening to rain that afternoon, and so I was hoping that it would hold off until I was done taking pictures.   And it did manage to hold off on any rain, until much later that night.  Gotta love it when nature cooperates with a photographer!

So without further ado, here’s my “up close” photographs.

A full dandelion seed globe awaited my camera and me at the edge of our front sidewalk.   I’ve never photographed one of these on a macro level, and now I’m not sure I can NOT photograph these macro.  Just so pretty up close.

42 - up close

divider

I pulled some of the seeds out to see how that would look, and it’s definitely really neat!

42 - up close 3

divider

The wind was blowing, and these wanted to be set free.   They’re still holding on to each other so they’re not flying in the breeze just yet – if so, there’s no way I’d be able to focus on them.

42 - up close 4

divider

I have a miniature rose bush in my backyard, and I love that it’s still blooming.    Love this close up shot.

42 - up close rose

divider

This bud is maybe the size of my thumb, probably a little smaller

42 - up close rosebud

divider

I never realized the intricate details on leaves before this.   Just very cool to see.   This is a leaf from one of our maple trees

42 - up close leaf

Hope you enjoyed this macro peek at my yard this week

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2012 12:13 am

    Gwen! Outstanding!
    Love them all. The dandelion is to die for, seriously.
    Great stuff!!!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      October 28, 2012 10:05 pm

      thanks! I’m quite pleased with how they all turned out. 🙂

  2. October 21, 2012 4:10 pm

    Beautiful!

  3. October 21, 2012 5:53 pm

    Beautiful images of the dandelion! Love photographing those myself – your images are beautiful!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      October 28, 2012 10:06 pm

      thanks Sherry. I usually photograph them in the hands of children, air blowing in their general direction. I’m glad I decided to look at them a different way.

Leave a Reply

