Skip to content

Week 40 – silhouette

October 7, 2012

focus52BlogI just love it when a prompt matches up with one of my passions.  And this week’s silhouette certainly is a match!  In fact, when my oldest walked into the office, and saw the silhouette images open in Photoshop, he said, “that’s all you take pictures of, just pictures just like that” (probably because he couldn’t think of the word “silhouette”).   I told him that I didn’t, but nothing would change his mind, and he just walked out of the room shaking his head at me.

But you have to admit, there’s a certain kind of beauty in silhouette images.  Yes, you lose the details and colors of the actual subjects, but you gain the beauty in the surroundings.   And by not seeing the details of the colors that might otherwise distract, you’re seeing details you might otherwise miss.

My older daughter is obsessed with cartwheels, round-offs, and handstands.  She does them all.of.the.time.    She especially likes to do them in her bedroom, where I hear the crashing and thundering sounds of her landings above my head as I hang out on the main floor of our home.    So I thought that it would be a lot of fun to capture this phase of her life in silhouette form.     And I was right, it WAS a lot of fun!   Jordan enjoyed it too.

Mid-cartwheel

40 - silhouette 2

divider

Again, mid-cartwheel

40 - silhouette 3

divider

40 - silhouette 4

divider

Handstand just before going into a bridge (never really got her bridge, as she can’t hold the form quite yet, and so she always collapsed immediately)

40 - silhouette

divider

Not a full silhouette, but I love how the warm sun is hitting her. And the plane in the background was typical – there were so many planes taking off around that time.

40 - silhouette 5

divider

Just had to get a sunburst with a silhouette and I just love these foxtail grasses. Went with a different coloring on this one, even though it was just after I took the photos above.

40 - silhouette 6

divider

Couldn’t get a silhouette of this guy, but just had to share it. I’ve never seen a praying mantis eating before, and certainly not a fuzzy bee. You can see the “fur” in its mouth. It just turned and looked at me. Circle of life kind of thing, I guess. Just thought it was pretty cool. Jordan did too. 🙂

praying mantis

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2012 6:44 pm

    Beautiful silhouettes. Love all of your pics.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      October 8, 2012 4:27 pm

      thank you, Megan!

  2. October 7, 2012 8:18 pm

    Excellent work Gwen!!!
    You know, those first three photos would make a gorgeous trio in frames for her wall.
    Just sayin’ 😉

    Praying mantis’ freak me right the hell out. Mostly the way they turn their heads at you, like this guy. ack! Aliens, I swear. LOL

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      October 8, 2012 4:27 pm

      That’s a great idea about her wall. We’re about to repaint her room, and I’d love to update the wall art. 🙂

  3. Anapiscis permalink
    October 9, 2012 3:57 am

    I like it very much!

Leave a Reply

