Skip to content

Week 38 – hit the road

September 23, 2012

focus52Blog
This week, we were to “hit the road” – photograph a road, old or new, highway or low way, just a road. I had an idea of which road I wanted to get, but didn’t get to get out there until Thursday (as I had a sick preschooler for a couple of days, limiting my excursions). Once I dropped him off on Thursday, then I was off to hit the road!

I spent over an hour taking photos, and just being there in the moment.   I have so many AMAZING photos, and that’s one of the reasons this post took so long to publish.  I still have about 90 images open in Photoshop, I will have to come back and add more here after kids are in bed tonight.

But check out “my” road!

38 - hit the road

divider

38 - hit the road

divider

I got down on my belly to get this view, just love it!

38 - hit the road

divider

But most of the pictures I took weren’t of the actual road (although I have a lot of those, from different perspectives, different parts along my walk). I took so many photos of the beauty right next to the road.

38 - hit the road

divider

38 - hit the road

divider

I don’t even know how to decide what else to share. I have to finish saving all of the photos I have open, and then I will have to update this post. So if you’d like to see some of the things that I saw, then please come back later. 🙂  Like tomorrow night, because I just realized that there’s no way I will get through them all tonight.   I guess it’s a good “problem” to have, too many good photos …

divider

It’s a week later, and I still have Photoshop open with at least 60 images hogging up my computer’s RAM.   My kids hate when I’m at the computer too long, and I confess to getting distracted this week with other things.    *sigh*     I do have some ready to share, so will add them right now.   The others will just have to sit in the darkness, not seen by anyone but me (for now).

Flowers by the side of the road, in the shade
Hit the Road images

divider

View of the road in the other direction
Hit the Road images

divider

I love the colors in the field. I applied a texture on this one, just for fun

Hit the Road images

divider

Yet another view of the road, around the curve is the barn

Hit the Road images

divider

The other end of the road, where it meets civilization. 😉 This road isn’t really one that’s used, there’s no access from the boulevard that it’s perpendicular to.

Hit the Road images

divider

I love how the sun illuminates these wildflowers and foxtail grasses.  So pretty!

Hit the Road images

divider

One of my very favorites from this day. I’m thinking about getting this one printed big to hang in my house. There’s just something about it that I love.

Hit the Road images

divider

I have lots more. I captured some amazing butterflies, a lovely bee, and a couple more little critters. I have to give my poor computer a break from this session of Photoshop, and I have a few other things that have to take precedence. So those photos will get their very own post when I have the time (which, at the rate I’m going, might be next year! I kid you not, I have some AMAZING images still to work on from June 2011). Maybe I shouldn’t be such a control freak when it comes to my images, but I like them to represent what I saw with my eye, so I always adjust for white balance/color temperature, as well as contrast. I don’t let the camera do it for me …

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2012 8:40 pm

    ha! you and I were in the same boat this week. I took TONS!
    I get to the point where I’m tired of looking/editing and just pick the best or what I think is the best out of 50 different points of view. LOL!
    yeesh.
    These are beautiful. Perfect ‘road’. And it sounds like you had the same kind of day as I had too, caught up in the moments.
    Don’t you just love that? 🙂

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 30, 2012 10:46 am

      I just added more images … and they’re in my flickr stream too. I have so many more, I wish I had more time to work on them. Never enough hours in the day …

  2. September 24, 2012 10:14 am

    Love that road, Gwen! It reminds me of the driveway leading to my paternal grandparents’ home when I was growing up. And the belly shot was more than worth it!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 30, 2012 10:47 am

      thanks, GiGi! I’m glad you appreciated the uncomfortable shot from my belly. 🙂

  3. September 30, 2012 11:37 am

    The belly shot is my favorite! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

