Skip to content

Week 37 – name that tune

September 16, 2012

focus52Blog

What a fun theme for this past week!  Capture a photo that represents your vision of a favorite (or not so favorite) song or song title

I’m sharing two songs here this week.   The first is my “official” share for Focus 52, but isn’t the song I initially tried to capture.

 ♪ ♪ ♪ ♫  I got a pocket, got a pocketful of sunshine   ♪ ♪ ♪ ♫

37 - name that tune

divider

 ♪ ♪ ♪ ♫
Take me away, a secret place
A sweet escape, take me away
Take me away to better days
Take me away, a hiding place
 ♪ ♪ ♫

37 - name that tune

divider

I think that “A pocketful of sunshine” fits these photos, don’t you?

37 - name that tune
swirl-and-line1

But let’s rewind to last Sunday, a week ago today.    It was a beautiful day.   It really was an amazingly beautiful day.    And days like that make me think of the song.   You know, Beautiful Day by U2.   My favorite.band.ever.   Beautiful Day was released in 2001, and I would listen to it while driving to work.   In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if I was listening to it the morning of 9/11/01…

Of course, last Tuesday WAS  September 11th.     I honestly can’t think of any anniversary of that day when we’ve had bad weather.  It’s always been beautiful, just like it was on September 11th, 2001.    I live in Northern Virginia, and so our weather is the weather the Pentagon saw that day.   It’s also the weather New York and Pennsylvania shared.    Gorgeous.    The weather last Sunday reminded me of that same weather, and for the most part, the whole week was like that.     The photos above were taken on September 11th.      The photos below were taken on September 9th, as I took my family into DC for a boat ride on the Potomac.     I’m sure that you’ll agree that it really was a beautiful day.    And while the photos do reflect the day’s beauty, they weren’t quite what I wanted for the week’s theme.   Looking at them now in hindsight, they would have been good by themselves, wouldn’t they?

swirl-and-line1
The heart is a bloom, shoots up through stony ground
But there’s no room, no space to rent in this town
You’re out of luck and the reason that you had to care,
The traffic is stuck and you’re not moving anywhere.
You thought you’d found a friend to take you out of this place
Someone you could lend a hand in return for grace

It’s a beautiful day, the sky falls
And you feel like it’s a beautiful day
It’s a beautiful day
Don’t let it get away

You’re on the road but you’ve got no destination
You’re in the mud, in the maze of her imagination
You love this town even if it doesn’t ring true
You’ve been all over and it’s been all over you

It’s a beautiful day
Don’t let it get away
It’s a beautiful day
Don’t let it get away

Touch me, take me to that other place
Teach me, I know I’m not a hopeless case

See the world in green and blue
See China right in front of you
See the canyons broken by cloud
See the tuna fleets clearing the sea out
See the bedouin fires at night
See the oil fields at first light
See the bird with a leaf in her mouth
After the flood all the colours came out
It was a beautiful day
A beautiful day
Don’t let it get away

Touch me, take me to that other place
Reach me, I know I’­m not a hopeless case

What you don’t have you don’t need it now
What you don’t know you can feel it somehow
What you don’t have you don’t need it now
You don’t need it now, you don’t need it now
Beautiful day

37 - name that tuneWaiting for the boat

divider
37 - name that tuneOn the boat (my oldest child in front of me)

divider
37 - name that tune

Lincoln and Washington Monuments, as seen from the Potomac River
divider
37 - name that tune

Washington Monument, as seen from the Potomac River

—-

This week, we’re hitting the road for our theme.  I hope to find some fun inspiration!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2012 2:34 pm

    Wonderful Gwen!
    You know, I didn’t even think of that song, and I had songs on the brain all darn week, looking for one for myself. See? I stump myself too, sometimes 😉
    Love these shots. And the music – perfect.

    I’m confused now though … the sun is still shining here so it can’t be 8:58pm yet?
    LOL! You’re early!!! 😉
    *smooch*

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 16, 2012 5:11 pm

      You crack me up! Yeah, I didn’t want to wait until the very last minute to do my post. I stayed in my pajamas until after 1pm, and as a result my photos were ready a little earlier than my last minute usual schedule. 🙂

      • September 16, 2012 6:41 pm

        pajama days rock 😀

  2. September 19, 2012 3:06 pm

    Absolutely beautiful, Gwen!

Leave a Reply

