Skip to content

Week 34 – all creatures big & small

August 26, 2012

focus52Blog

I started this post on Sunday, with the intent of completing it on Monday.   Well, today is Friday, and I’m finally back with all of my photos.   I had a huge set of photos open in Photoshop all week, and it took me a while to get through them all before I could get back to the creatures.   Now I have to decide WHICH photos to add to this post, and that’s a very hard task.

swirl-and-line1
Any time I get a prompt that has to do with something in nature, I tend to go a little overboard.  And that was certainly the case this week. In fact, I took so many AMAZING photographs that I am not even sure how to to decide what to share here.

Just starting this blog post so I can get it linked up on Focus 52, then I have to put the wild animals, I mean kids, to bed.  I’ll be back to add more incredible creatures big & small …   Jan if you see this, and there are less than 5 photos, then come back in the morning. 🙂

One of the bigger creatures I photographed … the cicada. I walked around my yard forever trying to get a live one. They were singing their song, so I knew they were there. It just took a while to find one. I wish I had a photo of one of these next to a smaller insect. If you’ve never seen one of these in person, let me tell you, they’re big! They freak my kids out when they buzz by …

34 - creatures big & small
divider

So many garden spiders to be found! This would be one of my smaller creatures, as it’s a LOT smaller than the cicada. This guy was probably the size of a dime, including its legs.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

But at the same time, it’s fun to make something small look big … remember, it’s just the size of a dime. 🙂

34 - creatures big & small

divider

swirl-and-line1

Here are some of the other creatures I captured last week ….

This was actually one of the first photos I took, when I went out with my camera in search of photos for this prompt. These guys were practically wrestling, and I’m not sure if they were fighting or foreplaying … They separated after they heard me, but hung out near each other for a good hour after wards.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

I think this is my favorite from all of the Focus 52 shots this week. I love how he’s framed. This is one of the two grasshoppers from above, after they stopped wrestling.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

Poised for take off …

34 - creatures big & small

divider

This was an AMAZING spider! It spun its huge web (at least 2.5 foot diameter) between the side of the house and my garden. It was bigger than a nickel, probably even bigger if you count the legs (body was smaller than a nickel). The way it was moving as it was spinning, it never had all of its legs extended at the same time. It was very intent on spinning, and it was incredible to watch. I brought my oldest out later to show him, and as soon as the spider saw us, it scurried to hide behind the gutter where the web attached to the house. But when it was spinning, it was totally oblivious, despite that the fact that I was all up in its face with my camera. I’ll share the link with other photos from this prompt at the end, if you want to see more of this guy.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

In my search for a live cicada (mentioned in the beginning), I found several cicada shells. They’re a little creepy, but cool all the same.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

I swear this guy was staring at me! This is the other grasshopper from the wrestlers.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

I got several of this fellow. I love his “expression” here.

34 - creatures big & small

divider

A katydid! I went to photograph my roses, and this creature was hanging out, and I didn’t even see him at first. I didn’t even know what it was, had to ask on Facebook to find out. 🙂

34 - creatures big & small

divider

Last one to share. I had this one ready to go back on Sunday, but didn’t add it to the post then because I wasn’t sure I was going to share it (since I was still working on grasshopper photos). But there’s just something about this guy, isn’t there?

34 - creatures big & small

divider

As promised, here’s the link to see all of the creature photos that I uploaded. There were even more I decided not to process, because I really just had too many already. Nature is a really cool mother, she makes such neat and interesting creatures. 🙂

And for the record, I have no idea why I assign the male gender to all of these insects, I just did.   If I had gotten a butterfly, I bet I would have called it a she.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2012 8:37 pm

    I’ll be back! 😉
    (I’m in LOVE with the grasshopper on flickr. LOVE)

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      August 28, 2012 10:54 pm

      I’m still not done working on my photos. Got held up by a batch in Photoshop and then the first day of school. I promise, you’ll see awesome grasshopper shots tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

