Skip to content

#18 – decorative planter {52 Projects}

August 14, 2012

52 projects
I’m only 3½ months behind in blogging my projects …
This was an easy project. A neighbor had thrown away a couple of decorative planters, and I grabbed one before the trash guys picked them up. I’m not sure why I didn’t grab the other, there must have been a crack in it or something.

planter
divider
I didn’t want to be too obvious by putting it at my front door, completely untouched. While I’m okay with grabbing stuff neighbors put out with the trash, I really don’t want to have any of it as a sign at the front of my house that I’m a trash picker. 🙂 So I decided to spray paint it to make it fresh and new to me. I wasn’t sure what color to go with, I didn’t want anything that would look funny by my front door. I initially used an ivory color, but it didn’t look right. So then I settled on a nice green. It took two good coats to get it just right.

Here it is on my front stoop

planter

divider

And a pulled back view so you can see the front door too (and the chalk “graffiti” thanks to my kids).

planter

divider

There are flowers in there now, and I can’t believe I don’t have any photos readily accessible to add to this post!   They’re very pretty and look so nice in the green planter.   I’ll have to take photos tomorrow so I can update this post for all to see. 🙂

divider

Update:  Here are the flowers growing in the planter. They’re doing really well, despite some crazy summer heat we’ve had.

planter flowers

And a pull back shot

planter flowers

2 Comments leave one →
  1. scottiev permalink
    August 19, 2012 2:47 pm

    Beautiful! I pulled some indoor planters out of the trash that are zebra-y for Cori. I can’t wait to paint them like her desk so she can use them for something in her room. You’ve got me inspired… I’d do it now if it weren’t for the pouring rain.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      August 19, 2012 7:22 pm

      Scottie, that sounds so cool! Can’t wait to see what you do with yours. And that rain was CRAZY! The flowers in the planter are totally beaten down from today’s rain. (but I do have a photo to add to this post later tonight of said flowers, from a couple of days ago).

Leave a Reply

