Skip to content

Week 30 – floral

August 4, 2012

focus52BlogBetter late than never … I started working on the photos for this post back on July 29th, but then I got sidetracked by the Olympics.   Then my week flew by lighting fast, and here I am, at the end of week 31 finally posting week 30 photos.    I have no idea when I will update my posts for weeks 28 & 29 as I’m behind on my editing.

One of the reasons I didn’t get this post finished earlier (other than the Olympics) is the fact that flowers are something that I love to photograph, and I love to play with in post-processing.   I had so many to choose from, and then deciding on the final look took even more time.   But I hope that you’ll agree that it was worth the wait …

During our vacation in Massanutten, I saw these flowers at the overlook view point

30 - floral

divider

In the park, at the base of the mountain. These wildflowers were very tiny.

30 - floral 2

divider

Another shot, with a texture overlay

30 - floral 3

divider

Not floral, but I really love this lone weed in the sun’s rays

30 - floral 4

divider

Wildflowers on the mini golf course. Took this while waiting for my turn to putt.

30 - floral 5

divider

Then back home, I took photos in my friend’s yard about an hour before sunset.

30 - floral 6

Played with textures again, and really love the following set of photos of wildflower mini daisies.

30 - floral 7 texture

Without texture … which do you like better?

30 - floral 7

divider

Used my macro converter to get really close to these little guys and just love the view

30 - floral 8

divider

And this one is only the size of a nickel

30 - floral 9 texture

I have so many floral images on my hard drive, I don’t think I’ve gone a month without taking a flower photo. So I definitely enjoyed the theme, especially since it let me capture the little wildflowers on my vacation that I might have otherwise ignored.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2012 8:09 pm

    Gorgeous and well worth the wait!
    I love those tiny little mini-daisy ones. The second last shot is my favorite! Beautiful.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      August 5, 2012 8:20 pm

      thanks, Jan! That one is my favorite too. 🙂

  2. August 6, 2012 8:27 am

    My fave is the last of the mini daisy shots! amazing perspective! I need to think about one of those converters myself – I’m always so frustrated when I try to get up close like that.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      August 6, 2012 11:09 am

      That’s my favorite one too. I wish I used my converter more than I do. It’s definitely something that takes practice to get it right, but it’s a lot of fun to get a totally different perspective.

Leave a Reply

