Skip to content

Week 27 – celebrate

July 6, 2012

focus52BlogCelebrate!   Love that word, especially when there’s something to celebrate.

Lots to celebrate this week.   My older daughter turned 9 on July 1 (I hope to come back and add a couple of birthday photos to this post).    My youngest is FINALLY potty trained as of this week.    And yesterday was our country’s “birthday”.

I love fireworks, and my kids do too.   My husband, not so much.    But he agreed to accompany us to watch the fireworks in Leesburg last night.   I packed the camera and the tripod, as I really wanted to get some long exposure photos.   There was a chance of thunderstorms, but I had a bag for my camera so I wasn’t worried.     We hit traffic getting there, and so ended up watching from a parking lot instead of much closer to the action.   At least we had a decent view and a place to sit. There were power lines in the way, so that’s a little on the annoying side. Oh, well, I’m not gonna sweat the power lines. I still love my photos.

Since all of these were long exposures, I decided to list the settings I used so you can get a feel for how long the shutter was open.

27 - celebrate

8 seconds f/11 ISO 100

divider

I love the blue ones!

27 - celebrate

5 seconds f/11 ISO 100

divider

This one reminds me of a palm tree because of the trails from the launches

27 - celebrate

10 seconds f/11 ISO 100

divider

I really love how this one turned out. It was a very long exposure, but I covered my lens at several points during the exposure so that it wasn’t crazy bright in the end.

27 - celebrate

20 seconds f/11 ISO 100

divider

27 - celebrate

6 seconds f/7.1 ISO 100
divider

This one makes me think of Christmas

27 - celebrate

20 seconds f/13 ISO 100
divider

My son had moved my camera, and I didn’t realize it until it was too late. This part of the finale. I should have covered up the lens more than I did, as it’s definitely over exposed. But still, it’s cool because I think it illustrates that a lot of fireworks were shot off in a 20 second period.

27 - celebrate
20 seconds f/11 ISO 100

divider

When it was over, and we were walking back to the car (a very short walk), I saw the moon. And I couldn’t believe it. It was RED! Just amazing!!!!! The parking lot was backed up, so I knew I had plenty of time to set up my tripod and take a good photo. I hate that I didn’t have my 70-200mm lens, as it’s hard to get a great moon photo at 70mm. However, with a long enough exposure, I was able to at least get it like I saw it. It’s cool, isn’t it?

red moon

We had quite the lightning storm for the 50 minutes it took to get home. I was dying to set up my tripod and capture some lightning too (the ultimate fireworks!). But by the time we got the kids to bed, the lighting was all done. Oh, well. Another time, I hope.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 11:09 am

    Love the fireworks shots!!! Our San Diego fireworks were a bust i was so dissapointed!!! There was a malfunction and they all went off in a huge 15 second fireball leaving thousands of pople with no show!!!!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      July 7, 2012 2:08 pm

      Oh, that’s terrible! I love fireworks, I would have been so bummed if I was part of that crowd. 😦

  2. July 7, 2012 9:50 am

    Beautiful shots, and thanks for the setting info! I’m just beginning to figure out how to take things off manual, and I’m grateful for your help.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      July 7, 2012 2:08 pm

      Thanks for the compliment. I’m glad my settings can help. If you have a tripod, you can do a lot of fun things at night with long shutter speeds.

  3. July 7, 2012 11:57 am

    These are EXCELLENT! Love them!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      July 7, 2012 2:07 pm

      Thanks, Jan! And I even got my post done days earlier than usual. 🙂

  4. July 8, 2012 4:47 pm

    magnificent! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

