Skip to content

Week 26 – half

July 1, 2012

focus52BlogMother Nature completely changed the direction of my photos this week.  I had a fun idea for “half” but a big storm gave me something else to work with.

Bradford Pear trees are notorious for not lasting more than 15 years.    They grow fast, and that’s what makes them vulnerable.    Yet they make great climbing trees.  We have two in our front yard, and one of them is THE climbing tree for the kids on our end of the street.    They just love to climb it!   Well, they loved to climb it.   And that’s what makes this post very sad.

You may have read about the bad storms that ripped through Virginia (and Maryland and West Virginia) on Friday.    The winds were crazy, the lightning constant.   It was amazing to watch, actually.    Until it took half of our climbing tree.   Half.     And that’s how Mother Nature took over my prompt for the week.

26 - half

divider

26 - half 4

divider

My husband had cut off a lot of the branches before I got out there with my camera.   Bummed that I slept in and missed capturing it before cleanup began

26 - half 2

divider

The damage was great, you can see that there was already rot going on inside the trunk.    So we made the difficult decision to have the tree cut down.
26 - half 6
divider

Natalie came out to say goodbye to the tree.  I’m surprised my older two didn’t do the same, they’re the ones who spent so much time up in this tree’s branches.  In fact, they’d do their homework up there at times.

26 - half 5

divider

And here it is after the big cut.    Now it’s just a pile of mulch in the yard, the stump has been ground and the branches are out in the street waiting for pick up tomorrow (praying they do get picked up with the regular yard waste, but I’m not holding my breath – there were four trees down in the first block of our street).

26 - half 7

 

Not sure what will fill the void in the yard.   There is a silver lining in all of this, I now have more light in my studio area, and since I’m a natural light photographer, I now have a longer period of daylight in which I can offer sessions inside.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 11:31 am

    Always a silver lining! I’m glad there was no damage done to your house too!
    Your kids doing their homework in the tree really touched my heart. Poor little ones.
    Great shots this week.

  2. July 1, 2012 5:01 pm

    So sad to lose trees, especially those with memories. Good that you can see the “up” side with more natural light available for you. Mother Nature can be trying at times.

  3. July 2, 2012 11:42 am

    glad you could find the silver lining. I grew up climbing a pear tree and it will always be one of my treasured memories. TFS!

Leave a Reply

