Skip to content

#16 – shelves for the boys’ rooms {52 Projects}

June 28, 2012

52 projects

It was a very busy week for painting!    Andrew’s room was painted (not by me) two shades of gray, and the trim was done in black.   His white shelves didn’t quite work with the new color scheme.

Not sure why I didn’t take a photo when the shelves were still up, I was probably too impatient to get started.
Andrew shelves

divider

I decided to spray paint the metal parts of the shelves … and in retrospect, I don’t know why I didn’t immediately go that route with the shelves.

A pizza box was very helpful in the process

Andrew shelves

divider

I found this chair bottom on trash day, and it came in handy as a support for spray painting the rails.

Andrew shelves

divider

For the shelves, I decided to prime and paint them. I had a can of Kilz primer tainted green. Now, I should have remembered the last time I primed melamine wood, and it didn’t go well. But I didn’t. So I set up the shelves for painting.

Andrew shelves

divider

Turns out, the primer wasn’t the best for melamine, and it scratched easily. So I started the process of scraping all of the paint off.

Andrew shelves

The kids wanted to help, but that ended up creating scratches in the wood that are still visible today.

Andrew shelves

divider

I decided to try spray paint on part of a shelf to see if that would work. It did!

Andrew shelves

divider

I spent way too much time scraping the primer off (as both sides of the two long pieces were already primed), but once I was done, and the spray paint was applied, the final results were definitely worth the time spent.

Andrew shelves

divider

To give you an idea of the big changes in Andrew’s room, here’s a before/after shot of part of one of the walls.  Black trim is awesome!

Andrew's room

dividerdivider

Meanwhile, Jack’s ledge shelves were incomplete. I had painted one shelf, but not the other. Since I was in spray paint mode for Andrew’s shelves, I decided to do Jack’s.

Before

ledge shelves

After

ledge shelves

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 3:41 pm

    looks great! and the grey/black color scheme for Andrew’s room looks so grown up. WOW!

Leave a Reply

