Skip to content

#13 – brown paper gift bag {52 Projects}

May 15, 2012

52 projects

I knew what I wanted, but I couldn’t find it in the store.   I needed a brown paper gift bag large enough to hold a 16×20 mounted photo along with several other items.   I found a tutorial on Pinterest, and I scaled it to make a MUCH bigger bag than the tutorial was written to make.

I had a roll of brown shipping paper from the dollar store (I actually have several rolls of it, I have a future craft in store for a good amount of it), and thought that the tutorial would work with this paper.  The downside is that it wanted to roll up when I had it spread out on the table.    In the photo below, it’s cut to the correct size, and partially folded.  Then I used the cans and coaster to weigh down the corners over night to try to tame the rolling tendency of the paper.

Brown paper gift bag

divider

I scanned in my rough planning sketch, and you can see where I made some adjustments.   My plan was for the bag to be 16½” x 4½”x20¾” (wxdxh).  The horizontal dotted lines show where the folds should be  and the vertical solid lines are also fold lines.     To make this bag, my paper needed to be 26″x 42½”.  I decided that my brown paper was thick enough that I wouldn’t need to double it.   But I did plan on using cardboard in the bottom to support the contents, as well as a strip in the top fold for added stability.
May032012_0115

divider

Here’s the paper with the folds all made, and the cardboard strips all cut out.

Brown paper gift bag

divider

I used my tape gun to get the cardboard ready to stick in their proper places.

Brown paper gift bag

dividerCardboard all taped, we’re ready to fully assemble now.
Brown paper gift bag

divider

The half-inch strip on the right in my sketch is how the whole thing is connected.   I used the tape runner to make it sticky, and then I attached it to the opposite wide “panel”, lining it up as best as I could.

Brown paper gift bag

divider

For the bottom, I folded it like I do when wrapping gifts.   I put a box inside the bag to give me support while getting this part right.  I’m glad I had a box the right size handy!

Brown paper gift bag

dividerI was quite happy with how it turned out, even though no one looks at the bottom.   I was generous with the adhesive, as I didn’t want any failures while the bag was carrying its precious contents.

Brown paper gift bag

divider

Next came the hole punching.  Gotta have handles, right?  I used my tape measure to make sure that both sets of handle holes were even.

Brown paper gift bag

divider

And here’s the bag with eyelets and ribbon for the handles, just like I had envisioned!

Brown paper gift bag

And now with tissue paper, my logo sticker, and my client’s portraits inside.

Brown paper gift bag

The tutorial linked at the top of this post has a lot more details in how to make gift bags.   This post is merely to show how to do it on a much larger scale, but using the same instructions found in the tutorial.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

