Skip to content

Four kids at sunset {Ashburn childrens photography}

April 16, 2012

g Custom Photography circle stamp I have wanted a silhouette of my kids with the sunset at their backs for a very long time. But it’s hard to convince them that taking pictures with Mom is in their best interest, and I needed the timing to work out well in terms of the time of day and weather.

Well, last month everything aligned, and I got what I wanted. Actually, not everything I wanted, as cooperative kids would have been desirable. My oldest was mad because I took him away from playing with friends (I had promised him it would only take 10 minutes, and that’s really all it should have taken), my youngest thought that running off was a fun thing to do. My second youngest had a couple of meltdowns, and dragged the “session” out a lot longer than any of us wanted. And my second oldest was a rock (in a good way) – she just hung around and did as I asked of her.

This was the winner, and I think I will love this image forever

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

This is my second favorite, I love the hand holding. But I don’t love the sun at my son’s backside, and I wish I had more of their legs visible.

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

And, because these are the photographer’s children, I’m all about sharing the outtakes with you. 🙂

Number three is melting down here, as the other kids look on

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

Oh, look, a plane!

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

Then the younger two started fighting (no doubt caused by number three, she really was in a mood that evening)

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

Leave it to big brother to try to break it up (and meanwhile, I’m capturing it because it’s neat to see the story unfold as silhouettes). Note that number two isn’t budging, she’s just doing what she’s supposed to so we can hurry up and go back home.

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

This was the view from my car window, as we were driving away.  It was such a gorgeous sunset, I would have loved to have stayed and taken more pictures, but it was time to move on …

my kids at sunset

swirl-and-line1

I ordered a wall cling of the first image, and it’s beautiful on the second floor of my house.  I could have sworn I took a photo of it, but I can’t seem to find it on my computer.  I’ll update this blog post with a photo of the wall so you can see how it looks too.

Thanks for visiting today!

Here’s an update with the wall cling in my home
Apr192012_0065 blog

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

