Skip to content

Week 15 – perspective

April 15, 2012

focus52BlogMy perspective was skewed this week.   Literally.    I loved the idea when I saw the prompt for this week, and couldn’t wait to come up with something.  In fact, I have a series of photographs that were taken before my personal perspective shift.  But I feel that the photos below better illustrate perspective than anything else, given the crazy week we’ve had.

I debated putting my watermark on these.  I mean, who wants to be associated with a lice killing product?   But you know, it’s really not that big of a deal.   It is what it is and nothing more.    It’s just that I ended up doing laundry for 2 days straight, and the hair combing of four kids (plus me) several times a day just robbed me of my time to do other things.   Hence, the shift in my own perspective.   You see things differently when your life revolves around ridding your home of little bugs that will ostracize your kids.    Thankfully, the NIX worked, and only one child actually had crawlers.    I’m still on the lookout for anything more, but the kids are back to rolling around in the carpet as usual, despite my warnings not to until we know for sure we’re past this ordeal.

So, without further ado, here are photos from varying perspective on the very things that changed my perspective for the week.

This one, I tried to get the word “lice” reflected in the comb. By the way, that comb is the BEST for nit removal. I bought it during our first family outbreak in Sept 2010 (that was blogged here too, LOL). It’s the Nit Free Terminator, in case you ever have a need for such a comb (but I pray you don’t).

Week 15 - perspective
divider

Yes, that is a lice bug in tape in front of the bottle. It’s what led to the discovery this time around, as I found it on my daughter’s shoulder when I was helping her wash her hair. I put it aside, and then put it in tape so that I could double check on what it was (I was praying it was a gnat). But after her shower, I discovered many more while combing her hair, and then there were the nits (which is what she had a ton of 18 months ago), and those I know well.
Week 15 - perspective

divider

Week 15 - perspective
divider

Isn’t my bathroom counter a nice reflecting surface? LOL
Week 15 - perspective

divider

I was all about changing my perspective, laughing at myself as I captured this. For the record, neither Nix nor Nit Free paid me for this (in fact, they have no idea at all that I’m posting this). But if they want to send me a check for advertising, hopefully they’ll use my “contact me” page to send me a note. 🙂

Week 15 - perspective

divider

Week 15 - perspective

divider

And just because, here’s a close up of the bug itself. In real life, it’s about the size of a sesame seed. Hopefully, you aren’t mad that I didn’t warn you that this was coming. Needed the element of surprise here, maybe I’ll actually get a few blog comments on this post. (yes, it’s very late, and I’m deliriously tired right now).

lice

I promise, my next blog posts will be nothing like this one at all!!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 10:09 am

    Oh man, been there – done that, and NEVER want to go back! LOL!
    There was a period when daughter was around 9 to ten that these little mothers just kept coming back. You really have to watch who they’re hanging out with, because if the parents aren’t doing as conscientious a job as WE are, the little suckers just come back and reinfect your kid again. GAH!
    I swear, I was at a point of not letting her hang out with this one girl until they were 30. LOL!

    I’m sure you know this, but those little bugger run on 14 day cycles, so keep checking. If you’ve missed even one teeny tiny little egg, you’ll be back in trouble again in no time.

    Tea tree oil works for keeping them away. I mixed a little in daughter’s shampoo for awhile. They don’t like the smell or something like that.

    Good luck!

    I’ve got the itchy-scratchies now 😉

  2. coolmama72 permalink*
    April 16, 2012 1:05 pm

    We’re already back in trouble. My kiddo won’t wear her hair up, and we found more last night, less than 6 days after her treatment. I’m back in laundry hell today.

Leave a Reply

