Skip to content

Week 8 – bring on the light

March 3, 2012

focus52BlogI’m late in blogging last week’s prompt, as I was in Vegas for almost all week, and this week has been spent catching up. I loved the prompt “bring on the light” because I just love light. I’m always noticing light and its effects on my surroundings.  And I chose to wait until I got to Las Vegas before I took any photos.

I arrived late on Tuesday night, and on Wednesday morning, I rushed to church, since it was Ash Wednesday.  I guess there’s a bit of irony in being in Vegas on the first day of Lent.   I was happy that there was a church so close to my hotel, and even happier that the sun was in a good place right after Mass so that I could capture this.   Light spectacular.

week 8 - bring on the light

divider

You do know that I love sunbursts, right?  I’m actually quite addicted to them …

week 8 - bring on the light

divider

After church, I went straight to the WPPI trade show and was there for the bulk of the day.  So I didn’t get back out with my camera until sunset.  I saw the setting sun from the windows of the hotel as I was heading to my room to drop off everything I had picked up at the trade show.  I rushed out with my camera, and just missed the actual sunset, as the mountains swallowed the sun before I made it out.   The sky was amazing, and I got this shot from the top of the parking garage as I had to go as high as I could to still see some sun.

week 8 - bring on the light

divider

Then I started walking towards the front of Excalibur (where I was staying).   I got these palm trees which were between Excalibur and Luxor on the backside of both.  I just love the light and what it did to the sky here.   Just beautiful.

week 8 - bring on the light

divider

The sunset made cotton candy in the sky.   This is the back of Excalibur right after I took the photo above, I just turned around and got this.  The sunset the following night also made cotton candy clouds, and I just couldn’t get enough of looking at it.

week 8 - bring on the light
divider

The main reason for my trip to Las Vegas was to meet my friend Narrelle for the first time in person.   She was there with her family to celebrate her 40th birthday, and they had come all of the way from Australia for US West Coast trip.  They had arrived while I was walking around taking pictures, and she texted me that she was coming out with her camera too.  So the following two photos just remind me of the time that I met Narrelle for the first time.  We stood on the bridge between Excalibur and the Tropicana and took photos of the Strip with its glittering lights. Bring on the light, right?

week 8 - bring on the light

divider

And then one more look at the hotel for the night, this time from the bridge.  I love how it’s lit up, it looks much cooler at night than during the day.  My kids think it was neat that I stayed in a castle.

week 8 - bring on the light

I took a lot more photos in Vegas, but they’re still in progress as I play catch up on many facets of my house, life, photography, and business this month.  Hopefully you enjoyed this little view of the light of a day in Las Vegas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

