Skip to content

#5 & 6 – updating a light fixture & lamp {52 Projects}

February 29, 2012

52 projects

Combining two weeks of projects into one post, because they’re directly related.   And truth be told, it took longer than two weeks as I had two newborn sessions around the same time, and project time was at a premium.  Considering that we’re into week 9, I’m REALLY behind in blogging my projects.

Backtracking before I start, here’s the light fixture that was in our dining room up until last summer.    This photo was taken right after our walls were repainted, you can see the frames from our family photo wall on the table, waiting to be hung.    I picked up a 10 light chandelier from freecycle, spray painted it with oil rubbed bronze, acquired a set of nice shades, and now the dining room has a totally different fixture.   But that was done before I started this project, you’ll have to click the link if you’d liked to see the dining room fixture now.

Sep042010_0002 copy

Prior to starting this set of projects, I spray painted the above fixture a combination of aged copper and oil rubbed bronze.   But I hadn’t hung it, as I wanted it to cure so I didn’t scratch any off in the hanging process.

divider

I picked up five shades at the thrift store, for a dollar each.   My plan was to take off the green fabric and recover with a fabric that goes with the rest of the house.   And that’s there week 5’s project began.

lampshade recover

But I also picked up a lamp from a neighbor’s trash, as my family room needed a lamp.   So I decided that the lamp and the lights in the kitchen needed to coordinate, as they’re practically next to each other.   Here’s the before shot of that  lampshade.

lampshade recover

And we definitely need a before shot of the kitchen light fixture before it came down.   It’s a beauty, isn’t it? LOL   Hate it!

lampshade recover

And since I’m sharing before shots, here’s the rescued lamp.   I fully extended it before painting it, so it’s leaning as a result.   Don’t worry, it’s not leaning today.     I normally love silver finishes, but that wasn’t going to work in the family room.  It needed to be oil rubbed bronze …  Spray painting was the first thing I did on my project list, right after I took the first newborn’s photos.
floor lamp  before

divider

These photos aren’t necessarily in order of events, but hopefully this all flows well for whoever ends up reading it. 🙂    Somewhere towards the end of week 5, I took down the old fixture and hung the new one.  I’m really so proud of myself, I never thought I’d be replacing light fixtures.  I just thought it would be harder than it was.   My daughter helped me, as it’s not something that can be done solo due to the weight of the fixture.   She was happy she got to stand on the table, LOL.     Here’s the fixture sans shades.  Pretty, isn’t it?  Can you believe that’s the same fixture that’s in the first photo?!
lampshade recover

divider

Meanwhile, the recovering of the shades had begun.   Here’s my dining room table, covered in my supplies.

lampshade recover

divider

It was a learning process for sure … I used spray adhesive to attach the fabric.   In the shade below, I had sprayed the fabric, but as you can see, it wasn’t even.   Not good!  Luckily, I bought plenty of fabric, so I peeled it off and started over.

lampshade recover

This is the second attempt.   This time, I sprayed the shade, but the seam didn’t really hold.  So I used glue to hold the seam.   Um, that’s just as bad as the first version, not liking it at all!

lampshade recover

Third time is a charm!   This time I sprayed the shade, and didn’t do a folded seam.  I tried cutting the fabric along the design folds, so that I could have a natural type seam.     However, when I put it on the fixture, all sorts of imperfections showed up with the light on.  So I decided to line the shades.

lampshade recover

divider

Once I had one shade done, I decided to document my steps somewhat, in case someone else liked how my shades turned out.    First, I cut out the fabric for the outside.  I tried using paper to make a pattern, but found that it was better to roll the shade on the fabric, and cut with it.  You can see how I cut along a fold on the left, that would be my outer seam when attaching it.

lampshade recover

For the inside, I ironed my fabric so there was a nice fold at the bottom.  I didn’t worry about the top so much, as that’s not what’s seen when you’re at the table.

lampshade recover

I sprayed the shades in my garage, in a copy box to keep the adhesive from sticking on anything else.  It worked out well.  Every time I did a shade, I had to turn the can upside down and spray until nothing came out.  That left a puddle of adhesive in the box.  Each time, I quickly dabbed it up with my finger, rubbing it just on the inside of the top and bottom, so that the outer fabric would grip the inside.  Waste not, want not, right?

lampshade recover
dividerThen I’d bring the shade back inside the house, and quickly cover it with the fabric, so the adhesive didn’t have time to dry completely.   I used clothes pins to hold the fabric for a couple of hours, just to be sure.
lampshade recover

divider

I didn’t use spray adhesive for the inside, instead I used liquid scrapbooking glue I had on hand, spreading it all over the inside then attaching the fabric.

lampshade recover

divider

Then to finish the look, I attached trim that I picked up at A.C. Moore.  Loving how it turned out!

lampshade recover

divider

Natalie wanted me to make an outfit for her Barbie, and had to have a photo taken of it. 🙂

Natalie

divider

And here’s a shade on the fixture, so nice!

lampshade recover

View from the inside

lampshade recover

All of them

lampshade recover

divider

And here are the photos of the big shade.  I didn’t line the inside of this one, but I need to go back and even the edges of the inside fold of the fabric.

lampshade recover

I’d really like to redo this one, I hate the splatter from the spray adhesive.  You’d think I learned my lesson from the little shades, but I guess not.  I decided to try to “lightly spray” the seam, and it splattered instead.   I’m trying to keep that side against the wall where no one can see it.

lampshade recover

lampshade recover

divider

The lamp in the family room, but not in its final resting place.    I’ll have to see about getting a photo of it where it is now, I thought I had one but I can’t find it now.

lampshade recover

divider

pin it

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    March 13, 2012 10:31 am

    That turned out really nice, Gwen! I’m impressed!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      March 13, 2012 11:12 am

      thanks Katie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

