Skip to content

Table to refinish – what would you do?

February 3, 2012
tags:

I hope to get some ideas here, not sure how wide my readership is, but thought I’d start somewhere.

I got this table for the playroom over a year ago, and I’ve always wanted to refinish it.

table

I initially thought I’d repaint it, but the metal inlay throws me for a loop. Doesn’t help that it’s broken in one spot.

table

But it’s a nice square table, and it’s perfect for the kids to use. I’ve left it as is for so long, but I’m really dying to change it up.

table

What would you do? How would you handle the metal inlay? Would you remove it and use wood filler to close that gap? Fix the broken piece somehow, and do something that allowed the metal to show? Just sand and paint it like it is? Part of me wanted to do a chalkboard paint on the tabletop, but I’m not sure I want to encourage even more dust (from the chalk) in the basement.

Chime in, I’d really love to know what you’d do.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    February 4, 2012 4:32 pm

    What about covering it with a piece of white board and adding a small molding around the whole thing?

    I probably wouldn’t try to take the metal inlay out. I think that’s asking for trouble!

Leave a Reply

