Skip to content

#4 Image transfer to wood {52 Projects}

February 2, 2012

52 projects

I’ve always thought that images on wood looked really neat.  So when I found this video tutorial via Pinterest, I had to give it a try.   Since the tutorial is a video, I also wanted to create a photo tutorial for those who prefer that over video.

If you decide to do this, here’s what you’ll need:

piece of wood
photo printed on laser paper, mirror image
acrylic gel medium
foam brush
Mod Podge
brayer (optional)

divider

This is a small piece of wood, about 3×4 inches. Wanted to do a trial run first.

image transfer to wood

For kicks, I wanted to “age” the wood first, using another tip found on Pinterest.

image transfer to wood

divider

My materials ready to go – Acrylic Gel Medium (bought it at AC Moore), my aged wood, and my photo printed on laser printer (it must be a laser print or photocopy – ink jet prints will bleed). Make sure your photo was printed as a mirror image so that when it’s transferred, the orientation is correct.

image transfer to wood

With a foam brush, coat the wood with the gel medium

image transfer to wood

Then place the paper, image side down, and smooth out the paper so there are no bubbles or folds. You can use your fingers, but I have a brayer so I used that (this is actually my daughter being a hand model for me since I couldn’t roll and photograph at the same time)

image transfer to wood

Let it dry overnight. 12 hours+ is good, I think.

image transfer to wood

divider

Now the fun part … put water on it and spread it around so it’s all over the paper. Let it sit for a minute or two.

image transfer to wood

Then start to rub the paper so that it comes off the wood

image transfer to wood
divider
Once the paper is off, let it dry. In my test piece here, I realized I shouldn’t have aged the wood. It’s too dark, you can’t really see the details of the pretty photo. Lesson learned. But I’m leaving those steps in here in case a darker wood would work for you.

image transfer to wood

divider

Once dry, use your foam brush to apply a thin layer of Mod Podge.

image transfer to wood

I guess I forgot to take a picture of that piece with the dried Mod Podge. But here’s the second one I did. It’s larger, about 5×7, and I didn’t age the wood. This has the Mod Podge applied. I don’t think I let the gel medium sit long enough, as more color came off than I would like. It does give it a rustic feel though.

image transfer to wood

And then with yet another Pinterest found tip, I used a soda tab to create a hanger on the back. (the colors are from playing with alcohol inks to see if I could touch up where the ink was missing on the front – didn’t work because the gel medium protected the wood).

image transfer to wood

pin it

divider

And because I’m never satisfied with doing just ONE project, here’s something else I tried last week.

I wanted to see what a paper bag floor would look like. Yes, I found the idea on Pinterest. This is just a small 13×15 piece of plywood. If I did make one of these, it would be on plywood for under my craft tables. But I don’t know that I will. It does look cool though.

Torn paper bag after being dipped in glue on the plywood

paper bag floor trial

Instead of a stain, I used my wood aging concoction to color it
paper bag floor trial

My final step was to coat it in polycrylic. I applied two coats, but it’s still pretty uneven in texture. Not sure I’d want this as a floor. But now I know. 🙂

paper bag trial

And that was week 4 of my 52 Projects series.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

