Skip to content

Playroom furniture from castoffs

January 28, 2012

I love getting something for nothing, no doubt about it. And when that something helps make our lives better, then it’s perfect! Here are two things I got for free that are just great!

divider

This was out for the trash, so I grabbed it knowing that I could do something with it. It’s laminate, and I learned the hard way that it needed to be properly primed first. I painted without thinking, here’s how it looked while I was in the middle of scraping off the paint I had so carefully applied in order to prime it. Luckily, I didn’t spend anything on the paint, it’s the leftover paint from when we had our bedroom painted a few years ago.

Mudroom project

And here it is all painted, in the basement. I even painted the back piece to be a cream color, which looked better than the stark white it was before

Dec032011_0016 blog

Dec032011_0021 blog

And now in use ..
toy pantry

The play kitchen/restaurant area (love the imagination of the kids when they’re in play mode!)

toy pantry

pin it

divider

My neighbor listed this small entertainment unit on freecycle, and I’m so glad I saw her listing before she gave it to someone else. I knew EXACTLY what I wanted to do with it! My kids’ dress up clothes were out of control, and I really wanted a warddrobe/closet for them. So that’s what I did with this little unit. The hats are on top, and other accessories are in the drawer below. My daughter decorated with cute stickers that I got on sale at Jo-Anns for a mere 50 cents.

Jan102012_0042 blog

Jan102012_0043 blog

I got a great tension rod on clearance at Bed Bath & Beyond for $3, but it didn’t like the weight of the costumes. It just slid down the side. So I drilled holes on both sides in the center, and used a shelf bracket (from my mudroom cabinets) to hold the rod in place.

Jan102012_0044 blog

divider

pin it

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

