Skip to content

#3 Cushion Covers {52 Projects}

January 25, 2012

52 projects

I really wish I had written the blog post that shared my mudroom, as well as the post that showed my baby bed, because I feel like this post is a total spoiler to those. Oh, well! I won’t write one for the bed now, since you see it here, but the mudroom post will show up in the next week or so. πŸ™‚

I’ve had “sew bench cushion cover” on my to-do list for a while, well over a month, and I finally decided to tackle it last week. I bought the fabric back in November, it was 50% off the red tag price at Jo-Ann. I don’t remember what I paid for it, but I remember being proud of myself for finding a fabric that I thought would work with the colors in the mud room. It’s not technically machine washable, but if the kids get it filthy, I’ll be okay with tossing it in the machine and seeing what happens. I can always sew a new one, right?

I knew I’d be able to find an idea for sewing the cover on Pinterest, and I was right. I found a great tutorial with pictures, and pinned it here.

Here’s how it looked after the first two seams were sewn (connecting two side panels to a larger middle panel)
bench cushion

I followed the tutorial to make pretty boxed corners

bench cushion

And the opening on the underside is just what I need for taking it off for cleaning (I didn’t want to mess with a zipper, and this solution was great!)

bench cushion

The finished cushion on the floor (couldn’t wait to get it on the bench before taking a photo)

bench cushion

And here it is on the bench πŸ™‚
bench cushion

divider

I also needed to sew a cover for the cushion/mattress on the baby bed I made last month. It also needed to be removable so I can put waterproof pads between the cover and the cushion. I thought I could modify the tutorial above to use just one side panel. But it didn’t work out quite like I planned …

Side panel and large panel

baby bed sheet

The idea was that the flap would be towards the top of the “mattress” …

baby bed sheet

But while that was nice in theory, in practice, it forced me to sew seams that show on top that I just don’t love. This is the underside, but if you look close, you can see seams on each side that are also visible with the top is showing.

baby bed sheet

However, on the bed, it’s okay. I just changed my vision for it, the opening is now towards the foot of the bed, and when I photograph a baby on it, I’ll position it so that the seam isn’t sticking up.

baby bed sheet

And do you love my bed? I know I do! Here’s the pin to the bed plans (Ana White’s plans rock!)

baby bed sheet

divider

Like this project? Feel free to pin it

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

