Skip to content

Week 1 – New

January 8, 2012

focus52Blog

 

New year, new Focus 52 (aka Project 52, not to be confused with my 52 Projects!). The theme for this week was “New”. Well, I have some new toys to play with, and so that’s what I wanted to capture this week.

 

My newest toy is the Wacom Bamboo Create pen tablet. My husband gave it to me for Christmas, but I didn’t get it until a few days after Christmas. I’m still getting the hang of it, and need to use it a lot more. But I think it’s going to work out well for me.

1 - new

1 - new 2

divider

Unfortunately, the USB cable that came with it was too short to reach the back of my computer. And my front ports wouldn’t work with it either. So I needed a USB hub. Gotta love Amazon! I ordered this cutie, and it arrived just two days later.

1 - new 3

divider

Not a toy, but definitely new. I needed a better way to organize my inbox. So I’m using two magazine boxes on their sides. I need to come up with a good labeling and divider system, but that’s a project for another day. 😉

1 - new 4

FYI, I cleaned my desk. I usually have too much clutter going on, but I’m loving how the clean desk makes me feel. And I dusted in honor of these photos. Ha ha ha ha Seriously, there was a crazy amount of dust behind my printer! I had no idea, I never move it. But with my new tablet, I needed a bit more space on my desk, so I slid the printer over, and discovered a lot of dust. No pictures of that for you.

A shot of the new and improved desk surface

1 - new 5

 

divider

Just for kicks, here’s the “before” shot of my desk. This was taken about a week ago.

Dec292011_0039 blog

 

There’s gotta be a good saying about a cluttered desk is the sign of a great mind. Right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 9:09 am

    LOL! yep … great minds 🙂
    You’ve been busy! Caught the New Year, Get Organized bug, did ya? That’s always a good thing!
    I love my tablet, and yes, it takes a bit of getting used to. But once you do, you’ll love it!

    Happy New Year Gwen! So nice to have you back at focus52. yay!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      January 10, 2012 3:55 pm

      I caught the bug in a big way! You should see my craft/guest room right now. It’s almost totally dismantled (except for the part with the most stuff – my scrapbooking area – that’s a project for later down the road)

  2. Sheila M. Cornish permalink
    January 9, 2012 10:09 am

    Hi and Happy New Year, Gwen. I always look forward to your photos and comments. There’s something about the start of the new year that makes me want to clean, organize and get rid of superfluous “stuff”. Have you noticed how many “offers” are coming in on FreeCycle since Christmas? I’m waiting till it calms down a bit before I add to it – can’t wait! You’re off to a good start!
    Sheila

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      January 10, 2012 3:54 pm

      thank you Sheila. I’ve been freecycling like mad! But you’re right, it’s busy, and I’m finding that I have to relist things because they get buried.

      By the way, I got a great little entertainment unit from Ellen, and it’s already transformed. I need to blog it because it’s great!

Leave a Reply

