Skip to content

Week 40 – shadows

October 11, 2011

focus52Blog I had a lot of fun with this prompt! I thought about getting out my tripod and trying to get the moon’s shadowed side. But I decided not to go that route … if it had been a new moon, I might have. But it’s a waxing gibbous, and so the shadowed side would be hard to get with the bright part of the moon so prominent.

I ended up heading outside with Jack, near dusk. Our shadows were nice and long. The funny thing is that I had no idea that Jack didn’t know about shadows. I kept telling him to have his shadow do something, or to try to touch my shadow, and he just didn’t get it at all. By the end of our little walk, he STILL didn’t get it. I asked him to touch my shadow, and he brought me the dried grass that was where my shadow had been. So I guess I have to work on this concept a little more with him.

Sure got some cute shots though, and I’m pleased. 🙂

Heading down the hill to the bike path … Jack didn’t like all of the flying bugs that seemed to be all over the grass, and he was in a hurry to get to the asphalt.

40 - shadows 1

divider

Love this shot of Jack and his shadow
40 - shadows

Just me and my shadow 🙂 Or really, just my shadow…
40 - shadows 2

divider

I normally wear my camera strap around my neck (gotta keep my camera safe!) but for the purpose of the shadows, I let it hang so it was more obvious in the shadow.
40 - shadows 3

divider

Jack touching his shadow … well, the ground by his shadow. He just didn’t get the whole shadow thing at all.
40 - shadows 4

divider

Our walk back up the hill, avoiding the grass this time … it’s neat to compare this shadow to the first one, taken 25 minutes apart
40 - shadows 5

divider

And one bonus of Jack being silly … I wanted to get him and the sun in the same frame, but he was running from the camera and filled with general silliness. I did get a couple of neat shots with the sun, but that will have to wait for another post.

Oct072011_0040

divider

It’s a busy week for me. I’ve been really behind on blogging my professional photos here, and I hate that. If I can get caught up on other stuff, I plan to be sharing more here. The Focus 52 posts get written because I only have until the Monday after to properly link them to Focus 52. I will be better about blogging next week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    October 16, 2011 5:59 pm

    My favorite is the one of you and Jack walking home. Love the light!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      October 23, 2011 8:20 pm

      thanks, Heather. 🙂 I had so much fun with him that day.

Leave a Reply

