Skip to content

Cleaning up my ribbons

September 25, 2011

Just a quick post, as I’ve been meaning to share this for a while.

I love Pinterest, but it steals my time. LOL I found this great idea there a couple of months ago, and knew I just had to do it!

At AC Moore, I lucked into a bag of wooden doll pins for a dollar. Whoo hoo! And I picked up a glass vase at the thrift store for another dollar. From freecycle, I received a huge bag of ribbons that were just great, but they were all loose. Add that to the jumbled mess of ribbons above my cool spool holder (below), and you can tell that I really needed a better way to see my ribbons.

ribbons before

So thankful for Pepper and her clever ribbon keeping idea! I wrapped the ribbons around the pins, and I also cleaned up the spools and taped the ends to keep them from unrolling. There were a few odds and ends that didn’t make it into the vase, but they’re very few and easy to find in the white basket on top.

ribbons after

I’m so happy to have some method to the ribbon madness. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 12:15 am

    So cute! Thanks for the message. I love how organized your ribbon is. Unfortunately…I am back to square one…I may use your idea with the wooden dowels!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 26, 2011 12:20 am

      Of course, I haven’t had to use any of the wrapped ribbons yet, so I’m hoping that I don’t make a huge mess when I go to find one in particular. LOL What I’m using is a fancy paper towel holder, and then I have a wooden dowel above it, going through available space on the sides. Perfect for the spools at the craft stores. 🙂

Leave a Reply

