Skip to content

Jack’s Big Boy Room – Ka-chow! (part 2)

September 10, 2011

As promised, I’m back with part 2 of Jack’s room changes.

Sticking with the Cars theme, I thought it would be neat to change the knobs on his dresser.

Before
dresser before

Purchasing the Disney Cars knobs is pricey … considering that I needed nine knobs, it would have cost me over $30 to buy them. So, given that I have the Cricut Cars cartridge, I set about making my own knobs. But cutting characters that small wasn’t going to work (I tried, just way too much detail). So I opted to go with a sign theme for the main drawers, and used the Piston Cup and racing flags for the other two knobs.

I painted each knob with craft paint (2-3 coats each), followed by 2-3 layers of Mod Podge.

I made a little “stand” by drilling holes through a board, and then inserted long nails to hold the knobs. The round knobs are on his closet doors (not sure where I put the picture of those).

stand for painting knobs

Then the paper decoration went on top with more Mod Podge (and each little sign took more time, as I had several rip during the cutting process – turns out I needed a new blade). I couldn’t cut “YIELD” or “ROUTE” – I spent WAY more time trying than I should have. Finally dawned on me to print the words on paper, and then use the Cricut to cut around it. That took more time just trying to get properly centered, which was just ridiculous. Again, was being too much of a perfectionist for something that I’d be the only one to notice.

Jack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobsJack's dresser knobs

Jack's dresser knobs
Did Jack love his new knobs? No, he HATED THEM! (Despite being excited about them when I was making them, he was very interested in the painting process). Here he is trying to rip one off, right after I put them on. He is really mad here.

Jack trying to rip the new knobs off

He has since come to accept them, and no longer talks about taking them off.

divider

Like the wall switch plate, this is one of my favorite improvements in the room. I really am so very pleased with how this turned out.

Rich’s mom gave this Winnie the Pooh hook rail to Andrew when he was a baby, and so it’s been hanging in the room for almost 10 years. I left the mounting screws in the wall when I painted, but I wasn’t sure if something new would go there, or what.

pooh hooks

I don’t know what inspired me to change Pooh to Cars, but I do know that once I found this site devoted to Pixar computer wallpapers that inspiration took root and grew.

I found this picture, and just knew it’s what I wanted to use

radiator fb

I love how the “Welcome to Radiator Springs” has the curve to it, as that totally works with the Pooh hook rail. But it wasn’t wide enough. So I spent a couple of hours in Photoshop, borrowing from other desktop art on that site (and probably some from a Pixar image I found on Wikipedia) to create this:

welcome fb

I had it printed at Costco as a 12×18 print (the hook rail is 17″ wide), and then got the rail ready to proceed.

I took the hooks out (well, Rich helped, I couldn’t get one out as it was stuck in really good). Then I sanded as I didn’t want to have to prime. Then I used the same metallic taupe paint that you saw in part 1 and painted the edges of the piece (two coats).

Aug132011_0110

Then it was time for the Mod Podge. This went better than the switch plate, as I was working with the thicker photographic paper (matte, not glossy) and I didn’t have to deal with a sealer or worry about the paper tearing. I put on 3 coats of Mod Podge, and two coats of acrylic sealer.

Aug172011_0073

This is the finished piece, with the hooks back in place (they were on before I sprayed the sealer).

Jack's hook rail

And on his wall, finally.

Jack's hook rail

I put it up yesterday, and Jack was NOT happy. He said, “Take it down, put it in Natalie’s room!”. He’ll come to love it, as he now loves the drawer pulls (he was just telling me today how much he loves them).

divider

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

