Skip to content

Week 35 – Self

September 5, 2011

focus52Blog We had no prompt this week for Focus 52, it was a “shoot what you feel like” kinda week (or something that you’ve been meaning to capture but hadn’t). Well, I decided that it’s been too long since I did a self portrait, so that was my goal. I put on a dressier shirt than usual, jewelry I usually save for girls night out, make up (which I NEVER wear), and opened the seamless backdrop paper I bought MONTHS ago, and hadn’t touched. So in a way, trying out my paper was something new for me (my first paper ever), and totally belonged in a free-for-all week.

I had a lot of fun with my camera remote. I made a lot of goofy faces, and played with different poses. My husband saw some of the photos and asked, “who IS that woman? because my wife doesn’t look like that!” (or something to that effect, I can’t remember verbatim what he said). But he’s right, I don’t think I get silly often enough, or just try on different expressions in my regular life. I should try to do that more often.

35 - self border

divider

After taking pictures with the backdrop, I went to my bedroom to see how the light was (in preparation for an upcoming session that would be using similar light).

35 - self 3

divider

35 - self 2

divider

And of course, the kids wanted in on the photo action too (Natalie took over the remote, and took about 80 pictures with it – most of which I had to delete).

35 - self 5

divider

35 - self 4

divider

I’m really glad I took the time to get on the other side of the camera, I’m sure my family will appreciate that many years down the road.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 11:37 pm

    Absolutely beautiful, Gwen — Wow!l! Yes, your family will definitely appreciate these in the years to come. All too often, the mom is missing from all the photos!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 6, 2011 10:34 pm

      thanks, JD. I need to be better about getting in more of the pictures with my kids. šŸ™‚

  2. September 6, 2011 8:38 am

    Beautiful, Gwen! And though I love the posed shots, the last one is my favorite. :+)

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 6, 2011 10:36 pm

      thanks, GiGi! I actually have more with the kids, but didn’t want to overload here. I saved several as jpg so maybe I’ll get them printed for the kids. They love that. Natalie has a framed photo of me next to her nightstand, so she can remember what I look like if I go out and miss putting her to bed. That girl is a riot!

Leave a Reply

