Skip to content

Week 33 – Water

August 23, 2011

focus52Blog It was almost an adventure capturing the images for this past week’s prompt. I wanted to take pictures by a creek down the road from my house. But out of habit, I put on my flip-flops instead of shoes more suitable for creek access. The grass was long, and I was worried about snakes and bugs getting me. I took some neat flower pictures (I brought my macro lens converter with me) but couldn’t get close enough to the water to take any pictures that worked with the theme.

I knew where I could get better access to the creek, but the focus of my pictures would be very different than what I initially had hoped to capture. I crossed the street and started walking back to a path that would take me where I needed to go. But then I saw this spider … I have never seen a spider like this before. It was big and yellow and had a funky web, and it gave me the heebie jeebies. I didn’t have a zoom lens, and the flip-flops prevented me from getting a really good shot of the creature. It’s not my photo of the week, so you’ll have to wait until the bottom of this post to see it. Because I don’t want it to take away from my water images, even though there’s water behind it (as the creek was running behind the giant web).

There was thunder, but the sun was shining, and I didn’t think the skies were going to open up any time soon, so I went back to my plan of accessing the creek from a flip-flop friendly vantage point. We live in a neighborhood with paved walking paths, that have bridges over the creek when it intersects with the paths. That’s where I was heading. It was actually closer to my house, but I didn’t start there because I really did have a vision with my initial location. Dratted shoe choice!

But as you can see, these images were worth the loss of the vision. I really love them, even though they’re not what I wanted when I started out that afternoon.

Do you see the water? Or do you see the sky? Because the sky IS the water. I love this.

33 - water

Another view (the brown areas make more sense here, I think, as they’re just the rocks and sediment at the bottom of the creek)

33 - water 2

A different part of the water, a different tree overhead

33 - water 3

And now you can see the spider … again, really wish I could have gotten a closer shot of her (as I’ve learned that it’s the females that are yellow).

33 - water bonus

Do you see the water behind her? So this image counts with the theme too, even though the water isn’t even close to being the subject here.

I actually have more photos on my camera, taken with the theme in mind. But I haven’t gotten a chance to take them off the camera, much less take a good look at them, so I’m not including them here at all. I think the ones I just shared are really neat, so that’s what you get to see. Thanks for looking!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 7:59 am

    Very cool, Gwen! And a neat take on the assignment. :+)

Leave a Reply

