Skip to content

Portraits of my kids | Ashburn child photographer

August 12, 2011

Two of my children have July birthdays, which means new portraits for the portrait wall. I take one of each child during their birth-month and that photograph stays for the year. July was a busy month, so I decided to attempt both of their portraits together one evening. We got a later start than I had wanted so I had to work quickly with the remaining light I had … but having a three year old to photograph doesn’t really allow working quickly. 😉

I knew I wanted to get them walking on the road, so that’s one of the first things I did, as that part gets dark quickly.

Ashburn child portrait

I love this one, and will have it framed on my wall
Ashburn child portrait

This is Jordan’s “official” 8 year portrait, I’m eager to get it on the wall
Ashburn child portrait

I totally love this one too – she’s so cute how she’s into this phase of side ponytails and headbands.
Jordan 8 year session

Then it was time to try to capture Jack … he wanted to go home, and he definitely didn’t want to look at the camera. I enlisted Jordan’s to help me get him engaged …

I love her expression here
Jordan 8 year session

Just a cute outtake
Jordan 8 year session

Lots of playful interactions like this
Jack & Jordan

And a TON of 3-year-old boy expressions
jack storyboard

This is the closest I got to the portrait I was looking for … but at this point the sun was mostly gone, and there’s just not enough light (looks fine on screen, but printed it’s not as nice)

Jack's attempted 3 year session

Jack’s portraits will wait another day …

On the way out of the park, I saw the beautiful sky and knew I wanted to get a silhouette … Jordan was ready to go home, but she humored me so I could get this shot

Jordan 8 year session

The moon was full, so I also got this on the way out too …
Full moon July 2011

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

