Skip to content

First Communion Portraits | Ashburn child photographer

August 7, 2011

My daughter received her First Holy Communion back in May, and I took her portraits a few days before the sacred event. It was rainy the day of her communion, so I’m glad I did. It’s very hard to narrow down the ones to show here, as I really love so many more than I have space for.

And while these were taken three months ago, I hope you agree that they really are timeless portraits, and deserving of their own post here regardless of the time elapsed.

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

I didn’t notice until after I looked at the photos on my monitor at home – she was sticking her tongue through the gaps in her teeth as she smiled. A cute little quirk, a capture of my daughter so close to turning 8.

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

One of my favorite photos, I love how she’s kicked her foot up. Behind her is a statue of St. Theresa (St. Thérèse of Lisieux), our church’s patroness.

Jordan's Communion portrait

Her beautiful rosary, a gift from her godparents.

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

I adore this one so much … I hate that I cut off the bottom of her shoes, but this was an unplanned moment, and I’m glad I captured it.

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

She really had fun with this photo session, I love her happy smile here

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

A close-up of my sweet girl
Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

The back of her veil … I sewed her veil myself, and am pleased with how nice it looked.

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

The sun was setting as we left the church, so I drove up to a nearby ridge (I guess that’s what it’s called) to capture her with the beautiful colors of the sky.

Jordan's Communion portrait by g Custom Photography Ashburn Child Photographer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

