Skip to content

Cute cabinet re-do

July 17, 2011

I check out the free section on Craigslist, just to see if there’s something I can use. This great tv stand/cabinet was listed about a month ago. The woman who listed it asked me to call her to coordinate pick up. When she heard that I had four kids, and that my husband was out of town at the time, she offered to have her daughter bring it by. That was super nice of her! Her daughter and friend brought it by after my kids were in bed, and I was so happy about how everything worked out.

The door was broken, but no big deal. Rich fixed it for me when he got back into town.

cabinet

I had been looking for something to use for storage in my “studio” to hold either sewing related stuff or props for my photography, so this cabinet really was perfect. But the color was not, and I certainly didn’t love the knobs on it. A trip to Home Depot got me spray primer, spray paint, and two new knobs (on clearance to boot, lucky score!). Finding the time to paint it was a little harder, and I want to say that I had the cabinet for a couple of weeks before I finally got it painted. I went through more primer and paint than I expected, and had to buy a second can of each.

But look how great it turned out! (I had a little trouble reattaching the door hardware, but have since fixed the left door so it’s more even).

repainted cabinet

repainted cabinet

Now I just need to get my act together and organize the area behind my divider and decide what’s going into the cabinet. I suppose I don’t move as quickly as I should when it comes to any of my projects … it’s been painted for a couple of weeks now.

Leave a Reply

