Skip to content

Week 20 – doing things differently

May 23, 2011

focus52Blog Ahhhh…a break from the prompts. I do like the prompts, they make me look at things differently when I have my camera in my hand. But it’s nice to take a break from direction every once in a while. Cause I’m a stickler for the “rules” (even though there really aren’t rules, I don’t HAVE to follow the prompts if I don’t want to), and I follow the prompts no matter what else is going on for me that week. But this past week, we’re “doing things differently” with no prompts at all.

Which is good timing … because I wanted to capture something that I have no idea what prompt would cover, and that’s Natalie’s “mural” on her bedroom wall.

You see, she’s been watching Tangled. A lot. She was sent to her room for a time out one afternoon last week. When I went to get her for dinner, I discovered what was keeping her so quietly occupied.

20 - doing things differently
(the frame was added to the image, not the wall 😉 )

And just so you get an idea of the size of her artwork, here’s a pull-back.

20 - doing things differently

She wanted to be like Rapunzel in Tangled, painting on the wall. The pictures are supposed to be Rapunzel and Flynn Rider. I love how she puts the curls at the end of Rapunzel’s hair. For Mother’s Day, she drew pictures of both of us together … but she was Rapunzel. Maybe I should change her name. 🙂

swirl-and-line1

And since there was no prompt, I’m sharing two more photos from last week, as I really like these too.

After I took Natalie’s wall photos, I captured the sun in her bedroom window. Just think it’s neat (and of course, I love getting sunbursts).

the view from my girls' bedroom window

swirl-and-line1

I have a miniature rose bush in my front yard, and it’s finally starting to bloom. After the rain on Thursday, I went out with my camera (and my macro converter, but I didn’t use the converter on the photo below) to capture these beautiful new blooms. I need to go out again, as there’s at least six flowers open now. Love my roses!

First blooms

And that’s it for last week. Over the weekend, I participated in a photography workshop. I have over 1700 images on my computer from the two days of shooting, and I’m DYING to go through them. Hope to share some here too … if I can catch up on my blogging!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 11:24 pm

    So how did you handle this?
    I’d be torn. Part of me would want to frame it and part of me would wonder what not giving her a lecture would do to future walls. LOL!
    Maybe a bit of both?
    Anyways .. I think it’s adorable 🙂

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      May 28, 2011 11:09 pm

      I haven’t done anything yet … it’s still on her wall. I think I’ll just leave it there. No Magic Eraser, no frame. Just as it is. I’ll probably get a wild hair up my a$$ a year from now and tackle it while she’s at school, and just wipe it all away. But not right now … I kinda like it. I am just not telling her that. 😉

Leave a Reply

