Skip to content

Week 16 – Easter

April 25, 2011

focus52Blog You’d think Easter would be an easy prompt, given the many photo opportunities of the holiday. Not so much for me. I didn’t buy the girls Easter dresses this year, in fact I didn’t get ANY photos of the kids on Easter morning. I slept in that morning, and missed them finding their baskets. No photos of baskets or hidden eggs. Very unlike me … but I’m also drowning in RAW photos to edit, so I think subconsciously I didn’t want to add to that.

Nevertheless, I DID manage to take a couple of photos on Easter Sunday, and this one here is the one that will represent week 16 for me. We usually celebrate Easter at my parents’ house, but this year I wanted to host. That meant that I was in charge of baking the bunny cake. Mom always does it (and she always puts coconut all over the cake, to make it look like fur, and my kids HATE coconut). So this year *I* made the cake. In between cooking the dishes for Easter dinner, I frosted and decorated this cake. And I used a whole cup of butter in the frosting, and didn’t tell my mom until after she ate it (she’s into eating super healthy, which means her treats don’t taste good to me at all). Does he look tasty?

16 - easter

Lest you think I was a totally holiday photo slacker, here are some photos from Saturday when we colored the eggs. 😉

Easter 2011

Jack had a BLAST coloring eggs, thankfully he stuck mainly to yellow and orange, so his hands weren’t too badly stained.
Easter 2011

Despite the scowl, she really was having a good time (she’s wearing the dress I sewed for Jordan that they both wore two years – Nat’s too big for the one I made her)
Easter 2011

Some of the finished eggs
Easter 2011

And of course, a bunny showed up in the yard right outside my garden … bet there’s babies in that bunny belly. Bunnies have been feasting on my strawberry plant leaves, making me quite unhappy since I’d like to see actual berries this year. Andrew scared the bunny off shortly after I took this.
Easter 2011

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 11:45 am

    Hi, I love the eggs in the little blue crate..how sweet your photos are and hopefully the rabbits won’t eat all of your garden.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      April 26, 2011 12:02 pm

      Crossing my fingers about the bunnies … but my strawberry plants are already looking quite sad, despite my best efforts to protect them. 😦

Leave a Reply

