Skip to content

Week 12 – the view from here

March 28, 2011

focus52Blog Half of the week flew by before I even saw the prompt for Focus 52. We started the week with spring weather, although a little chilly, but then we got a LOT of rain. Snow was even in the forecast for the weekend (and luckily the snow passed us by, I really wasn’t up for it). I took my camera out into my yard to capture “the view from here” – the prompt for the week. The skies were gray, more rain was in the forecast. But I just couldn’t get any great shots of the sky. Instead, I chose to focus on the water that remained from the most recent rains. I had a lot of fun with my macro lens converter on my 50mm lens (as you can see from the shots below) … but I really got cold running around the yard taking a LOT of pictures as there was a very chilly breeze.

So, without further ado, here’s the view from here …

I won’t let my kids on the swings like this … not only will they get super muddy, but the poor ground under the swing gets even more torn up. So while it’s officially spring, the swings must sit empty for a little while longer. Just until the mud dries up…

12 - view from here

This was my second choice for my official photo of the week … the view of the daffodils in front of my house – it’s so cold they’re hanging their heads. 😉

Daffodils

And because I took out the macro converter that day, I have to share a different kind of view from here … (I almost made one of these my official photo of the week, but the swing just spoke to me 🙂 )

Leftover rain on a tulip leaf
Water on the tulip leaf

More drops there too (I love that I can see my reflection in the drops)
Water on the tulip leaf

A view of the water without the macro converter
Water on the tulip leaf

A macro view of our Bartlett pear tree blossoms-to-be
Bartlett Pear

And a non-macro view
Bartlett Pear

Daffodils and leftover raindrops
Daffodils

I really love this one!
Daffodils

My neighbors have a cherry blossom tree, so I had to get a shot of an emerging blossom. Can’t wait for it to be fully in bloom, as I want to get more photos. 🙂
Cherry blossoms starting

Well, that was an over load … but it was the view from here, and I just wanted to share. There are more, but I figured this was enough to share here. Head on over to my flickr photostream if you want to see more of my nature shots.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 5:03 pm

    Love all of these shots!

  2. April 4, 2011 9:54 pm

    Wow Gwen…these are amazing! LOVE the ones of the three droplets with your reflection!

Leave a Reply

