Skip to content

Week 9 – Aged

March 6, 2011

Oh Focus 52 definitely challenged me this week! The prompt was “aged” and I was determined to get a photo using the prompt. Yes, I was totally tempted to blow it off, to take a photo not related focus52Blog
to the prompt at all, and just call it my photo of the week. Ironically, I took some neat photos a couple of weeks ago that would have totally worked with this prompt. But I didn’t take them in the proper time window, and I’m so Type A that I had to take the photo when I was supposed to. (For the record, I’m behind in processing my photos – I do plan on sharing photos from that day once I get done working on them).

Back to the topic … aged … how do I capture that? I looked at cheese in the grocery store. But I didn’t see any aged cheese that I was willing to spend money on. I looked at wine, but I knew I wouldn’t drink it (don’t get me started on that, I’m trying to figure out how I can drink wine without my nose turning bright red. Until I get that figured out, I’m simply avoiding wine). I don’t know any really old people that I could capture for the purpose of Focus 52.

Then it hit me, I’d find an old building. An aged building. That’s it! But then I did one better, I photographed a building that was so old that only the stone walls were left. This is a place where I’ve photographed my kids in the past. Every time we drive by, they remind me that we went there for pictures before. Natalie and Jack were with me, and they enjoyed running around while I took these photos. But despite it being a beautiful and sunny day, it was quite chilly. So we didn’t stay there long.

Well, I’ve shared more than normal about why I took the photos I did. 🙂 Just wanted you to have the “whole picture”.

This is my official photo for week 9 2011. I really love it! I’m thinking about getting a large version printed to hang on my wall, maybe even in my bedroom (as I really need to change the decor on my walls there – same prints have been hanging there for the last 11 years).

9 - aged

Played with some textures (there’s multiple textures applied to the image here), thought it made for a neat image. But I think I prefer the original just a little bit better.
9 - aged texture

Some more images to share …

more "aged"

more "aged"

Natalie wanted to recreate a photo we have in the house of the kids looking into this hole in the wall. I thought that was so cute, even though I was taking the photo from the opposite side this time.
more "aged"

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 12:06 am

    What a great photo and awesome place for photo shoots! Tons of texture and character.
    I can just imagine the other shots you’ve captured!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      March 7, 2011 12:15 am

      thanks, Jan! 🙂 thanks for pushing me to think differently with last week’s prompt.

  2. March 7, 2011 11:24 pm

    I am in love with that building! love the bricks and the wood. beautiful shots of it!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      March 7, 2011 11:34 pm

      thanks Barbara!!!

  3. March 10, 2011 6:23 pm

    Awesome shot!

Leave a Reply

