Skip to content

Week 8 – Celebrate Me

February 27, 2011

The prompt was “celebrate you” … but the you is me. The idea is to focus on me, focus52Blog
to photograph something that’s about me. I decided to capture a hobby (that is not photography). In retrospect, I wish I had picked something different in order do follow through on this prompt. I don’t know what, just something different. Whimsical or something. Maybe next time … this was a rough week here at home, so really, I’m just glad that I got ANY time to focus on one of my hobbies. 🙂

I enjoy scrapbooking. It’s been a while since I’ve worked on any layouts, and I had hoped to get one done this week as part of following the prompt for Project 52. Instead, I made a birthday card. My friend Malaika’s birthday was today (technically yesterday since I’m blogging after midnight) and I always make her a birthday card. The week almost passed before I got a chance to make it (and I am not sure it made it to her in time for today’s mail … so maybe she’ll open it on Monday). But I did make it and that’s what matters. This is me, and it’s right after I finished making the card (before my mad rush to sign it and get it in the mailbox before the mailman came).

8 - celebrate you

And here is the card, right before I signed and mailed it (in the light of day, unlike the previous photo in the basement scrapbook area with no good light). The metal is from a Sprite Zero can. 🙂 I’ve been having a lot of fun embossing metal that way.

Malaika's card

Used my newest embossing folder to make the border, and then I sanded it. Very happy with how that came out
Malaika's card

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 2:50 am

    oooh! I like the sanded look!
    I’ve never tried embossing. Sad, I know. LOL 😉

    So nice to see your face! YAY!

  2. February 27, 2011 10:41 pm

    i like your working space. i wish i had something like that! the card looks great. i did some paper scrapbooking last weekend, but didn’t quite work out. I’ve been doing digital too long i guess!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      March 1, 2011 12:29 am

      Thanks Nancy!!! I wish I had more time to spend in that space, it’s rare these days that I get to craft with paper.

Leave a Reply

