Skip to content

Macro fun

February 9, 2011

I got a cool macro lens converter back in November, but haven’t spent much time playing with it. During the snow we got at the end of January, I decided to take it out to see if I could photograph snowflakes. Well, the snow we had was small and melted almost on contact, so I didn’t end up with much.

This was the closest I got to capturing a unique snowflake. We haven’t had great snow to capture individual flakes. The screen here is a window screen, so that gives you an idea of how small these flakes are. I hope to have another chance before we’re done with snow for this winter.

Snowflakes

I found a neat icicle though (this was pretty tiny, I love that the macro converter let me get the details of the bubbles in the ice)

Jan282011_0032

I gave up on trying to get more snow, and brought the camera inside. Then I really had some fun!

This is a neat blanket that I have hanging over my sewing chair. I really love how the colors show up in this close up.
Blanket

A ribbon on the ornament my daughter made in preschool
Ribbon

Jack’s Lightning McQueen (Matchbox size) – I have a few more pictures of his car, and in taking these, I discovered that the tires all say “Lightyear”. I love how Pixar shares details between their movies. (I had to sneak his car away to photograph it, he kept taking it from me as I was trying to capture it)
Lightning McQueen - a macro view

Andrew let me turn the camera on him (a very rare thing indeed), and I captured his eye and lashes. That was the most fun I had with my macro time. πŸ™‚ I know I shared his eye on this blog already, but it also belongs here. Besides, it’s cool enough to share twice.

andrew's eye

Andrew's lashes

Thanks for looking! I hope to post more regularly. If you’re actively reading my blog, post a comment and let me know.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    February 9, 2011 1:41 pm

    I’m reading! πŸ™‚

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      February 9, 2011 1:58 pm

      Thanks, Beth!!!! You should pop into the SB board. I just posted a new challenge there. πŸ˜‰

  2. February 9, 2011 1:51 pm

    cool Gwen! Love the snowflakes on the screen and Andrew’s eye – neat! What a fun detail to notice on Lightning’s tire’s too!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      February 9, 2011 1:58 pm

      thanks Catina! we should pick a morning and a place and go take pictures together. πŸ™‚

  3. Heather permalink
    February 9, 2011 1:51 pm

    Very cool! I want a macro lens!! Of course I have a rather long list of “I wants”. πŸ™‚

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      February 9, 2011 1:59 pm

      Heather, the converter is actually not expensive at all. I’ll send you the Amazon link for it.

  4. February 9, 2011 3:03 pm

    De-lurking πŸ˜€

    Love macro photography! The photo of Andrew’s eye is more than definitely worth posting twice. LOVE the snowflakes! Just imagine a photo of a snowflake caught on his eyelashes??!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      February 9, 2011 5:00 pm

      Thanks for de-lurking. πŸ˜‰ And I WISH I could get a snowflake on an eyelash. I don’t think any of my kids would be still long enough in the falling snow for that to happen.

      • February 9, 2011 5:03 pm

        If it’s any consolation, mine wouldn’t sit still that long either πŸ™‚ Unless… hmmm, if I set up the PS3 outside for Josh… hmmmmmmmm! πŸ˜‰ Remember “little Josh”? He’s taller than me now. Craziness!

      • coolmama72 permalink*
        February 9, 2011 5:09 pm

        Oh, I need to see pictures!!! He always had a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

