Skip to content

Five years old! My sweet girl | Ashburn child photographer

January 29, 2011

Natalie turned 5 on the 19th, and the weather was actually nice (well, compared to what it had been). I picked her up from school and suggested we go take her portraits on the way home. She loved the idea, and as you can tell from the photos, she had a fun time. It was probably close to 50 degrees out when I took these, but there was a breeze so it was definitely chilly. For those who might remember my other daughter’s 7 year portraits from this summer, this was the same location, just a different part of the building and area.

She wore a birthday crown at school, and really wanted to wear it for her pictures. I humored her for a few of them. 🙂 The jumping was her idea.
Natalie 5 year portrait session

She LOVES the “over the shoulder” poses
Natalie 5 year portrait session

The only one I converted, not sure about it (and she was squinting here)
Natalie 5 year portrait session

I love her joy
Natalie 5 year portrait session

This is her favorite, so it’s the one going on the wall in the house
Natalie 5 year portrait session

This is a close crop of the one above. My husband isn’t a fan of crops like this, but I wanted to share it with you since it won’t go on my wall.
Natalie 5 year portrait session

This is MY favorite of the session. Wish the focus was better on her face (focus seems to have fallen on her dress instead). I have several versions of this, because I really love the bokeh of the house behind her. But in the end, I want to look more at her than the background, so I’m sharing the closer cropped version.
Natalie 5 year portrait session

Another sweet one on the bridge
Natalie 5 year portrait session

And a classic “five” shot … I have a few of these, but I really like this one. Just wish the light was better on her face. She didn’t want to change positions for better light, we were pretty much done by this point.
Natalie 5 year portrait session

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 11:32 am

    Beautiful, Gwen, both the photography and your precious girl! The photos are fantastic — I find it harder to get great shots of my own kids than I do someone else’s — you obviously don’t have that issue!

  2. May 10, 2011 8:57 am

    She’s gorgeous 🙂 you got some great shots, I love the one you converted and her favourite.

Leave a Reply

