Skip to content

Making time to scrapbook and organize

January 12, 2011

Well, I’m slowly getting back into scrapbooking. I’m trying not to think about all of the layouts I still need to do (at least 100 at this point), and I’m just working on what I can. I still need to wrap up the photos for my project 365, and that will be the next post I write for my blog. šŸ™‚ (Although, I’m sure no one is keeping track).

Today I did a couple layouts with the larger photos I have, for the “professional photos” scrapbooks. Except now *I’m* the photographer, so I wonder if I should call the books something else. Each child has their own book that has the photos that are mostly 8×10 size. And then I have a family book for the photos of the family or Rich & I. I think I’ll just continue to call them the professional photo book, as I AM a professional photographer. (It’s just that a lot of the photos are from when I was learning, and wasn’t a professional yet).

Onto the pages …

This was the photo collage I did two years ago. It was an 11×13, which didn’t really fit on a 12×12 page. I cut off the top and bottom to make it fit, and then trimmed the sides. So the red you see is actually part of the collage. (The blue is the paper, just didn’t want the floor behind it confusing anyone) And I actually used letter stickers to do the “December ’08”. I really need to use up all of my stickers, will probably give some of them to the kids just to get them out of my sticker stash.

I just realized the larger silver star was in the wrong place here. I think it slipped when I was carrying the layout to photograph it. The large star belongs in between the smaller two stars. It fell on the floor right when I picked up the layout after photographing it, so I fixed it immediately. Just didn’t realize it was not in the right place when I took the photo.
Jan112011_0026

Jack’s one year cake smash … I had the urge to go with a busy background paper, and I think it works. I cut the letters with one of the Core Collection whitewash papers. I sanded the cake and crown (the cake is also embossed). I think it came out pretty nice.

Jan112011_0029

I did the layout for this a while ago, but the photo was in a frame in my room. So I finally got the picture in place. Isn’t he adorable? I just love this photo!

Jan112011_0030

And so you can see the two page spread, the page on the left was done a long time ago. šŸ™‚
Jan112011_0031 copy

And then non-scrapbook related is the kitchen organization. The kitchen is almost how I want it to be. I’ve been working on it for a long time, just need to do a couple more things to organize the counters, and it will be done. šŸ™‚ Decorating and reorganizing all of the rooms has been a priority over the last 6 months or so.

Yesterday, this was my project. It’s our new “command center” in the kitchen. I’m tired of the kids’ stuff taking over the counter space. So now they have this space for their things. I moved my magazine folder off the counter and down here too (it’s the brown one, if you couldn’t tell). This is still a work in progress, but it’s a very good start.

Jan112011_0020

Clear counter, love it!
Jan112011_0018

And while I’m sharing … here’s what that cabinet looked like before I took on this project (this has been about a week in the making, as I had to clear other cabinets to relocate the Tupperware).

Look at the top, it’s a mess, isn’t it?
Jan062011_0009

Tupperware is nicely stored in a more convenient location
Jan112011_0019

This is what it was like before … well, after I found new homes for the stuff that was in here before (and there was a decent amount of stuff, I did send some off via freecycle)
Jan062011_0011

I’m not taking photos of my other cabinets. They could use some re-ordering, but I’m not bothered by their present state enough to bother. šŸ˜‰ I should take some photos of the other counter-tops before I tackle those, as I’m hoping to see a real difference once I’m done.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

