Skip to content

The coolest birthday card!

October 22, 2010

I haven’t had the time to spend in my scrapbook corner lately … actually, it’s been a few months. But I always make birthday cards, especially for my own kids, and so I found myself needing to be creative. Andrew is turning 9, and his big gift is an iPod Touch (he picked that instead of having a birthday party … I think the iPod is cheaper than the party!). I wanted to make him an iPod card, so I went in search of a way to do that. I found this awesome blog by Penny Duncan and a post about an iPod card she designed. I emailed her and she wrote me back immediately with the files I needed to create Andrew’s card.

Here’s the card, just loving how it came out. For the icons, I actually designed that in Photoshop and had it printed as a glossy print at CVS and trimmed it. That took some time (with the design) as the size had to be PERFECT since I couldn’t change too much with the svg I got from Penny. (meaning the parts that had the buttons) I got it right, so was relieved about that. The top layer is a transparency over top of the icons and paper. The spray adhesive I used didn’t go on evenly, so you can see that in the photo. But in person, it’s not quite as bad. It actually looks REALLY COOL! (In retrospect, I wish I had figured out how to do the buttons in light gray).

Oct222010_0004

Oct222010_0006

And I wrote a dorky poem for the inside 😉

Oct222010_0005

Totally made me miss scrapbooking … I need to schedule that back into my life, along with exercise. 😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 8:02 am

    Oh I ABSOLUTELY LOVE how this turned out!!!!! FANTASTIC job and I just KNOW he will get such a kick out of the card AND THE POEM!!!! You ROCK mom!!!!!! I’m so honored you liked my file and you’ve done such an amazing job with it!!!!!!!!

  2. October 23, 2010 8:47 am

    What an awesome card Gwen! Great job! I’m sure he’ll love it!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      October 26, 2010 10:32 pm

      He totally loved it!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

