Skip to content

If I die, what will you do with the diapers?

April 27, 2010

That’s the question I asked my husband two nights ago, as I was stuffing the freshly washed diapers. It led to an interesting discussion …

So his answer was that he would freecycle the diapers. I asked him if he knew how to freecycle – “just put them outside and someone will pick them up” Well, not exactly. You have to list them and then pick a recipient and coordinate a pick up. So he said that he’d just donate the diapers then and take a tax deduction.

Then he said, “If you die, people will ask me how in the world I have so much free time with four kids, when you didn’t”. Great, now tell me more. “There would be no diapers to wash, no photographs to take, nothing to sew, no garden to work on”. I think he forgot about my scrapbooking and card making. “I wouldn’t have 16 internet boards to chat on”. Well, there aren’t 16 of them, but my boards and Facebook are my social interaction at times, and sometimes my inspiration for my craftiness.

Does that mean my hobbies are a waste of time? Or that my garden, which I have just to provide home grown food to my family, is useless? Ironically, a garden isn’t something I enjoy so much. But there’s 6 of us, and it sure is nice to walk out my backdoor and grab some fresh produce when it’s ready. In fact, I have 8 tomato plants growing, and I don’t even like tomatoes. They’re all for my husband, really. He rolled his eyes when I said I was going to try to grow cantaloupe (enjoyed by over half of the family).

My photography is something that I REALLY ENJOY … and I know that it takes a lot of my time. I try to budget my time but it’s a challenge for sure. I’d rather take pictures than clean my house.

But feeding and caring for my kids always comes first. Doing that takes away from the other stuff I love to do, so I’ll usually pick something I love to do over cleaning. Feed kids, clean up food messes, wash clothes, enjoy my children … those things get done before I pick up my camera (unless I’m photographing some of the wonderful moments with my kids).

Sewing … an interesting hobby. I like it but I don’t. I LOVE creating useful things. But it’s definitely work to me, and I don’t do it very often at all. Still, it’s cheaper to sew certain things than it is to buy them. So, I’ll sew when I can.

No, I have no free time. But I won’t give up my hobbies for the price of my sanity. I’ll take my time sucked days if I can have my hobbies and interests too. I just wish that there was a magical fairy living here who did the cleaning for me ….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:27 am

    Nicely said Gwen!!! I totally agree. If getting to have some ME time makes my days a little more busy and hectic then so be it. I think we’d lose our sanity if we don’t have some things we can call our own. Even though we’re mommy and wife and don’t work outside of the home we need some things that give us a little self identity etc. You’re a wonderful mommy and do a great job. A great scrapbooker, sewer and photographer to add on. Keep up the great work.

  2. April 27, 2010 11:46 am

    This could have been a conversation between my husband and myself…only I don’t sew. 🙂

  3. April 27, 2010 3:55 pm

    i am sooo with you. i feel like there isn’t nearly enough time NOW and i don’t even have any kids! i see how much you do via facebook posting and i have NO CLUE how you juggle it, so bravo to you for even being able to smoosh it all in!

  4. Karen permalink
    April 27, 2010 4:06 pm

    Gwen you are an inspiration! You never cease to amaze me with all your creativity and all you do with your kids. You have to take care of yourself in order to take care of others. 🙂

  5. April 27, 2010 5:59 pm

    You were not put on this earth to clean. Screw cleaning!

Leave a Reply

