Skip to content

D’Anna & Billy’s wedding

September 13, 2009

My cousin’s daughter D’Anna married Billy last Saturday. And I got to photograph it all!

I really enjoyed tagging along with the photographer (Tom Paule and his assistant Pat). Pat was awesome. He took the time to help me, especially with my speedlite. Everything I learned that day was due to him. I’ll share the biggest tip – when shooting indoors with the speedlite (not sure if it’s in all situations, but definitely applied to the church that day), set the ISO to 400, AP to 4-4.5, and SS to 1/30. Once I started doing that, my pictures really turned out amazing (provided my flash fired, but that’s another story). At the reception, he suggested that I increase my SS to 1/15 because it was more dark – but that didn’t help in most situations. I got a lot of OOF pictures when I did that. I think his flash was stronger than mine to freeze the motion.

The whole day was awesome. I mean, it didn’t start out great. The fire alarm went off in our hotel at 5am … caused by lightning hitting the building. It was pouring rain. It rained up until the wedding start time. We were supposed to do outside pictures before going to the church. But it all went fine despite the rain. I took a bunch of pictures in the hotel room … where the lamp behind everyone made editing REALLY DIFFICULT! I’m interested in seeing the photographer’s pictures from that set. Then after the wedding, I rode with the wedding party on the limo bus to a garden in St. Louis. It started sprinkling when we got there, but then cleared up for the pictures. The reception started 3 hours after the wedding, and I never got lunch with all of the photography going on. LOL Totally worth it though!

Okay, that’s more than enough rambling from me. I just had a great time, learned a lot, and am happy with my pictures. The photographer was nice, but there wasn’t much time for me to do anything on my own with the bride. He took most of her time. I did get her to pose for me a few times without him around. 😉

Here’s the link to the set on Flickr – there are some duplicates because of different edits. I edited over 200, I have 99 on Flickr. But the ones below are some of my overall favorites.
the dress

IMG_6915 copy

At the rehearsal dinner

IMG_6860

In the hotel room

IMG_6946 copy_filtered

Peyton

IMG_6922 copy 2

The lamp was right behind them … ay yi yi

IMG_6968 copy copy

The photographer didn’t get this at all, lucky me! It’s the father of the groom and his other son’s wife

IMG_6992

Brothers of the bride

IMG_7046

IMG_7195 copy copy

Just love this one

IMG_7302 copy copy

I don’t know if the photographer got this … this is the groom wiping away his tears during his vows. No flash during the ceremony so I struggled with light.

IMG_7106 copy copy_filtered

Boys will be boys

IMG_7277 copy

Rich thought I should delete this one. He didn’t get it. I was thinking that she’s looking towards her future …

IMG_7410 vignette

His last name is Flowers, I was being funny taking a picture of him WITH the flowers. 😉
IMG_7535 sunshine copy

IMG_7532 copy

A different crop …

IMG_7532 copy copy

I did a lomo action on this for fun

IMG_7499 lomo

Another funky action called “lovely and ethereal”

IMG_7499 ethereal

Okay, I know that was a lot, but it was really hard to pick even that few to share. If you looked at them all, THANK YOU!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 1:20 pm

    Gwen – some of these are so freakin’ awesome! And I hope you know what a tremendous blessing that is that Pat spent so much time talking you through it. Some pros can be so stingy with their “tips”. Thank YOU for sharing it with ME! LOL. I will put that into practice for sure (the speedlite settings).

Leave a Reply

