Skip to content

Why flash bulbs and purple irises?

August 20, 2009

I struggled with naming my blog.   It shouldn’t be a hard task, but I wanted something that reflected ME, the me that I know best.

My favorite band is U2, my favorite song is City of Blinding Lights.  Well, as much as I wanted to use “Blinding Lights” as my blog title, I didn’t think it made sense.   One of the lyrics is “flash bulbs and purple irises the camera can’t see” … and my good friend Ann nudged me to use purple iris as the name.  Well, both purple iris and purple irises were taken as blog names here on wordpress (and I had already mentally committed to using wordpress instead of another blog site).  So flashbulbspurpleirises it became.

“Creating in Chaos” should probably be the subtitle for this blog (can I do that?  must explore wordpress …) as that almost became my blog title.  You see, the purpose of this blog is to share my creative endeavors – photography, scrapbooking, & sewing.  Along the way, I’ll share snippets of my most loved creations – my four children.

My love for photography as been life-long, almost.   I’ve been taking pictures since I got my first camera at age 13.  But I’ve only been shooting in manual mode (with my Canon Rebel XTi) for almost 18 months.   I really love it!!!

I’m also an avid scrapbooker (which is where I truly create among the chaos).  I’ve been doing this for about 7 years, and really enjoy enhancing the memories captured by my camera.   I’m on a great scrapbooking board  (http://www.pregnancy.org/bulletinboards/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=100&f=231) and I share my layouts there.  But I wanted another place to share them, because otherwise they sit in books on my shelf with only the occasional glance.  So they will go here on my blog too. 🙂

Lastly, I started sewing last year, mainly to make cloth diapers for my younger two kids.   I enjoy sewing, although I’m not so good at it.   I just think it’s neat to create things for my kids, and I plan to share them here too.   I don’t do anything original, everything is either from a pattern or an idea already shared online.  I’m all about following the procedures when it comes to sewing. 🙂

So, that’s it – the reasons for the blog and a bit about the name.  I have to learn more about wordpress, figure out a theme,  and write more about my life here.  Plus I want to share what Ann found about purple irises, she’s so good to me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    August 20, 2009 6:52 pm

    Gwen you are loved! I feel loved that I made you feel loved. I’m happy I could be of help. You are my crafty creative mentor. I love to see all that you do. As much as I desire to create I just don’t make the time to do it and I admire the fact that you do. I can’t wait to follow your new blog.

Trackbacks

  1. flashbulbs and purple irises …. my 200th post « flash bulbs purple irises

Leave a Reply

