Skip to content

#1 Rescued End Table {52 Projects}

January 10, 2012

52 projects

Well, I made it through the first week with one project … and into the first two days of this week. I’ve actually spent hours and hours on this little   table. But as you look through the pictures (and there are a LOT … I wanted you to have an idea of what was involved here), you can see why. I think I learned a few things, but I won’t know for sure until we start to use this table.

I applied the final coat of polycrylic yesterday, so it should be ready to move into the family room today. Although, I just checked on it a few minutes ago, and I need to sand a little more as it’s uneven in spots. Here’s how it looked Monday night (after the second coat of polycrylic)
End table progress

Beautiful, right? I mean, I might be biased, but I don’t think so. This turned out much nicer than I thought it was going to, after the rough start.

divider

Speaking of rough starts, here’s the before pictures. I got this table from behind a dumpster not far from my house. I really liked the lines of the table, and couldn’t resist loading it into my minivan. I was on my way to Home Depot anyway, and ended up buying a finishing sander – a purchase that probably wouldn’t have happened that day if I hadn’t just scored this table.

Dec042011_0003 blog

With the sun’s glare, you can tell that the surface is uneven with whatever gunk was on it (and trust me, it was NASTY)

Dec042011_0001 blog

The drawer … nice lines, right?

Dec042011_0006 blog

The inside of the drawer, gross!

Dec042011_0005 blog

divider

Here’s the top of the table after my first run with the sander. Not loving the sander, either I’m doing something wrong, or it sucks. It leaves marks from the screws under the sanding pads. I sanded it again after this picture, but didn’t get any photos of that.

end table

A small piece was missing from the side, so I refashioned a new one with scrap MDF I have. I’m very proud of this.

end table

divider

I primed it last month, and that was a disaster. I used an oil based primer, because I didn’t want it to go anywhere. But it went on thick, and the brush marks were INSANE. I spent countless hours sanding, and adding more primer when I sanded too much. You can see where I sanded a bit in this photo, where the wood is showing. What you can’t see are the crazy brush marks that I couldn’t make disappear.

end table - primed

And I couldn’t wait to paint the drawer, so I did that first, as the primer was fine on it.

end table - primed

divider

I’m not sure what I was thinking when I first decided on how to paint this table. I knew I wanted a brown top, and I somehow wanted to use a blue-gray and a cream. You can see the blue-gray above. That’s actually a mix of two colors I had on hand, and I was happy with how the blend worked. I went to Home Depot and bought a sample can of Behr Brown Suede – it’s an almost black brown, with undertones of green. I painted the legs with a color called Artist Canvas. That was an “oops” paint purchase, also in a sample can.

end table

I painted some of the brown on to the drawer, and then wiped it off. It’s kinda cool, but as you can see, the whole thing just doesn’t work.

end table

divider

I asked Rich’s advice on the table, knowing that he didn’t love it to start with. But I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to continue. He made the suggestion that I paint the legs to match the drawer. It’s going into our family room, and the rug in there has the browns and blues (it has cream too, which is why I was going for my initial combo). I thought his suggestion was good, and I also ran it by my decorative-savvy friend who agreed. Then it got COLD. If you read my introductory post to 52 Projects, you’d know that I had to move everything out of my garage to park there again. To paint it, I had to move everything to the basement. Here it is after the first coat of blue.

End table progress

End table progress

divider

Once that was done, it was time to glaze. I mixed some of the brown with Behr Faux Glaze, brushed it on, and then wiped it off with a rag. I’m totally loving the effect!

End table progress

But the top continues to drive me nuts. The brush marks started with the primer, and every time I sanded, the next layer would show, causing me to repaint. And the grove was killing me! It was a challenge to clean it to start with, as it was filled with the nasty stuff on the table to start with. I tried using our Dremmel to sand it, but that wasn’t the smartest thing to do, as it tore the sides up. I decided to be intentional with my brush marks, going in one direction. But you can still see imperfections from the primer in the surface.

End table progress

I’m so tired of sanding. The top is what’s killing me, and I really need to get over it. I have four kids, nothing will be perfect. But I just want more out of this surface. So I will sand once more today (the photo was taken on Sunday, before the first coat of polycrylic)

divider

I used Brasso to clean up the original knob, thinking I’d spray it with Oil Rubbed Bronze when it’s warm enough outside.

End table progress

Then I remembered the knob I got in the clearance section at Lowes for only a quarter.

End table progress

Perfect, right? I mean, that’s what I think. Here’s a closer look for you.

End table progress

divider

So you can see the before and after together …

before & after

divider

Here’s the table in its new place in our family room
Jan182012_0054 blog

Like this project? Feel free to pin it

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb permalink
    January 10, 2012 2:18 pm

    Gwen….the table is awesome! I’m trying to score a coffee table via Goodwill and waiting patiently (or not so much). I will add your blog to my list that I’m addicted to :) Keep the projects coming !!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      January 10, 2012 3:53 pm

      Thanks, Deb! I get like that with some projects, just antsy to find the perfect object to transform after I see an idea. I have a list of projects, and it’s hard not to be impatient and start them all at once. I really want to try to stick to one project a week (but I am wrapping up a few projects from the end of the year, so I’ll have a lot more posts here that aren’t part of the 52 Projects series)

  2. January 11, 2012 9:19 pm

    The glaze on the table looks nice! Thanks for sharing. I am getting ready to paint a coffee table, so it was nice to see what did and didn’t work for you.

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      January 11, 2012 10:20 pm

      Thanks Christy! Hope your table turns out well. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

