Skip to content

Jack’s Big Boy Room – Ka-chow! (part 1)

September 8, 2011

I’ve been working on Jack’s room for two months now. And Jack has been quite funny about it.

First, I painted his room, from yellow to blue.

Before
before

 

After
after

 

Did Jack love it? No. He wanted the room painted red. Two months later, he still tells me that he wants the walls to be red. Sigh.

The baseboards, trim, and doors all still need to be repainted. But I’m terrible at detail work, so it’s not getting done any time soon. Need his dad to step up with a paintbrush. ;)

divider

Next, the decor … this is what’s been taking me so long to do, as I’ve been a bit of a perfectionist about it.

His hamper was Winnie the Pooh, to match the nursery decor.

hamper top

I spray-painted it red, and replaced the fabric top. I also replaced the cardboard on the underside of the lid, and spray-painted that a neat metallic taupe.

Aug152011_0081

 
Aug152011_0079
 

Aug152011_0077

Did Jack love it? No, he said he wanted the Winnie the Pooh back. Really? Crazy boy! (He loves it now, thankfully)

divider

The light switch plate is one of my favorite parts of his new room. I’m VERY pleased with the final result.

Before … yeah, I know you know what it looks like, but I wanted a before shot of this too. :)
wall plate before

This project took some trial and error. I found a Cars themed image online to use for this project. I initially tried using a photo print, but I couldn’t get it to wrap around the edges of the wall plate. I used Mod Podge to adhere the image, and luckily it was easy to peel off when the photo failed. Next, I printed it on regular paper, and then used an acrylic sealer on both sides of the paper (2 coats for each side) to seal the colors so that they didn’t run when the Mod Podge was applied. I cut out where the switches needed to go. Then I went to work with the Mod Podge. I used 3 coats of Mod Podge and 2 coats of acrylic sealer. Then I took the screws and spray-painted them with the same metallic taupe I used on the hamper. They blend in very nicely with the Radiator Springs image.

Looks pretty cool, doesn’t it?

Jack's light switch wall plate

Jack hasn’t said a word about it.

divider

Stay tuned, I have more to share. Hope to post part 2 in the next day or two (need 1-2 more photos to wrap that up). Plus I’m still working on wall decorations – you’ll see that in part 3. I just hope that he enjoys Cars for a few more years as I’m not changing his room for many years once I finish this!

divider

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 9:27 am

    This is a little boys dream! Great job on the little details! It makes for a really wonderful creation!

    Thanks for entering my giveaway, by the way! Good luck!

  2. September 9, 2011 9:30 am

    Sorry, I meant to say thanks for stopping by my blog, I was looking at the wrong email. You are more than welcome to enter my giveaway though. ;) I’m losing my mind, sorry!

    http://southernlovely.blogspot.com/2011/09/literally-inspired-giveaway.html

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 9, 2011 10:52 am

      LOL, I lose my mind on a regular basis. I’m checking out your blog now. :)

  3. September 9, 2011 12:39 pm

    Looks GREAT Gwen! Love it! Especially the light switch!

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 9, 2011 5:15 pm

      thanks, Sadie!

  4. September 9, 2011 4:18 pm

    It’s funny how he didn’t like the changes. Kids can be so particular. I think the blue pops! I also never would have thought to “cover” a regular light face plate. I would have immediately went to purchase a new one…so very clever idea! It came out wonderfully.

    Oh, lastly thanks for your comment on my site regarding my closet. Surprisingly the new design and order of things keep it looking brand new. When it was ugly it just stayed ugly. Now I’m determined to keep it looking nice :-)

    • coolmama72 permalink*
      September 9, 2011 5:15 pm

      Tatum, I have four kids and there’s no way my closet would stay pretty like that. I have a hanging shoe organizer in our coat closet, and that’s where all of the gloves and hats go (I chuckled imagining the six of us using just those two small baskets for hats and gloves – but I wish we could because I love how yours looks). I’m glad you replied to my question here, I’m not sure I would have seen a reply back on your blog because I’m terrible about going back to see if there are replies to my comments. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

